Mount Hood and the Columbia River

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is an image I lensed of  Mount Hood, Oregon, with the Columbia  River covered in mist coming off of its cool surface and spreading throughout  the entire area in this dense warm morning atmosphere. This was taken very early in the morning when I was flying from Hillsboro Oregon over  to Yakima, Washington.  

The sun is still 45 minutes away from rising so all the ambient  blue hued light is due to the over the horizon alpenglow effect. I had  to crank up the camera ISO to be able to get the shot and therefore  would be very noisy so I had to compensate which resulted in this  beautiful soft glowing image, reminiscent of classic Asian style  paintings from the past few centuries. 

This is part of a series of images I have that are all created  using the Alpenglow effect. Alpenglow (from German: Alpenglühen) is an  optical phenomenon when sky is illuminated through backscattering.Since  the Sun is below the horizon, there is no direct path for the light to  reach the mountain.  

Unlike sunset or sunrise, the light that causes alpenglow is  reflected off airborne snow, water, or ice particles low in the  atmosphere. These conditions differentiate between a normal sunrise or  sunset and alpenglow.The term is generally confused to be any sunrise or  sunset light seen on the mountains, but true alpenglow is not direct  sunlight, and is only observed after sunset or before sunrise. 

 This is a 30" by 60" version printed on canvas with the Giclee  process. I also have print this on metal and on acrylic. And I will take  crypto currency if you are interested in collecting a piece.  

  From "Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition" my  personal project of exploration in the North American Wilderness.  

I am  on a mission to raise awareness of our Iconic Natural Heritage Treasures  of North America.   Please upvote and re-steemit if you like what you see and want to help spread the word!

Yehaw!   

Sort:  

I love this picture. My daughter just moved to Portland, up by Mt Hood. I can't wait to see it!

I didn't realize alpenglow was anything but pink/orange...I've learned something today! The layers of blue are quite spectacular!!! Resteemed.

Beautiful picture that looks amazing @skypilot nice post.

That looks AMAZING!!!! Beautiful!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.96 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60843.73
ETH 3406.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57