Mount Charleston Cloaked in Snow Above Lovell Canyon Outside Las Vegas

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The vast Lovell Canyon bears sits beneath the towering Mount Charleston, cloaked in a blanket of snow and shrouded by clouds. Located just to the west of Las Vegas, Nevada, these wild lands are an available day trip for those adventurous enough to visit and hike through it.

Part of the Spring Mountains Recreational Area located in the Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest. At a spectacular 6.3 million acres this is the largest national forest in the lower 48 states ranging from Nevada to a small portion of eastern California.

I lensed this image of Lovell Canyon and Mount Charleston in the  Spring Mountains after an early spring storm had passed through the area. I was flying and exploring the wilderness area of the Mojave Desert and was  returning to Boulder City to refuel when I came upon this scene.

This area is located just over the mountains from Red Rock Canyon to the west of Las Vegas Nevada. It amazes me how many people who live in the Las Vegas area never bother to visit such beautiful places, even though they are right next door! Most people don't realize these places even exist! I am determined to change this! 

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.

  
This is a shot of me actually lensing the above image of Mount Charleston and Lovell Canyon

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.

If you like what you see here upvote) then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed then follow me. Yehaw!!

Sort:  

Lovely comparison Shot😊

extraordinary outdoor posts, I love your pictures, the view from the air is incredible, @skypilot amazing

Thank you for such kind words! I really appreciate you taking time to check it out.

This is fantastic, my brother was a pilot, it's love for a lifetime

Flying is truly a passion I've enjoyed my whole life! Once you are smitten by flight it never goes away!

Very good project idea! I hope it picks up steam in the Steemit community. Resteemed.

Thanks, so do I and with help from my friends such as yourself it has a good chance! Yehaw!!

OMG! You are extremely talented

Well I don't know about that, but I am very much into what I am doing... this has become a life long passion to explore these places and share them with the world! Glad you like it and thanks so much for taking time to check out what I am doing.

Now I appreciate you even more because you are very modest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81