Immensely Rugged and Harsh Mountains of the Lewis Range

in #photography7 years ago

The immensely rugged and harsh mountains of the Lewis Range, a  sub range of the Montana Rocky Mountains in the Glacier National Park.  To the left we see Harrison Glacier sitting on the topside of Walton  Mountain.   

The water runoff from the glacier and melting winter snow pack flows  through a series of small creeks and streams into that ravine running to  the immediate right of the glacier. That ravine is called Harrison  Creek and feeds into a beautiful lake just below the bottom of this  picture.   

To the immediate right of the ravine is Mount Thompson and  directly  above this is Blackfoot Mountain with Pumpelly Glacier barely  visible  on the top right of its peak.   

Further to the right along the top of the mountainous ridgeline we see Red Eagle Pass and then to the far right lays Razoredge Mountain. All along the ridgeline runs the Continental Divide.  

I lensed this image while flying in the late afternoon during the recent fire season. There were numerous forest fires burning to the west of me hence the golden red hue the overall image has. You can clearly see smoke from the fires along the top of the mountainous ridgeline.   

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here then upvote and then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well.  

Yehaw!!   

Sort:  

Very good photo @skypilot. . Thankyou for sharing. I like it

बहोत ही खुबसूरत दृश्य

What a fantastic photo! Such clarity and seeing all the particular peaks of interest (sorry about that pun) that you knew so much about gave me a new perspective on the area. It must have been a great experience.

Thanks Linda, I research these places a great deal to find forgotten history and interesting facts. I am very happy you like it! Stay tuned for much more!!

Amazing shot :) beautiful follow

Nice image and colors ! What type of plane are you flying ?

Thank you!! I am flying a Bellanca 7KCAB that has been modified for the expedition.

Absolutely brilliant mate! A truly breathtaking photo!

And I had no idea that 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada are still wilderness - you just blew my mind! 👍

yehaw!! Thanks so much... it is pretty amazing. I fly over empty places most of the time... I love it!

Wowww....amazing...so wonderful...., like this photo...Haiiii my steem family ... please chek to my post in my block there is something interesting and beautiful there .. you will surely enjoy the aceh natural beauty video n picture lanscape natural that has not been touched .. thanks for comment n vote resteem my post....i hope Your enjoy ... stop by that place .. enjoy the untouched realm ... tourism in north aceh ..sumatera .succes for all...god bless u..n all steemian family..

Exscuse me reblog your post brother...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57