Dusk Covers Flathead Mountains and the Great Bear Wilderness

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

These are the Flathead Mountains and Great Bear Wilderness in the Flathead National Forest. I lensed this image late in the afternoon after a late summer rainstorm had just passed through, enveloping the mountain forests with mist. The alpenglow effect cast a soft blue hue to this image of the mountains at dusk.

The Great Bear Wilderness extends roughly 36 miles and at its widest point is about 34 miles across. The Middle Fork Flathead River rises in the Great Bear Wilderness and runs wild and scenic through the area for about 50 miles, raging below cliff faces and over boulder strewn rapids in what some refer to as Montana's wildest waterway.  

This area is home to grizzly bear, lynx, wolverine, deer, elk, gray wolf, moose, black bear, mountain lion, mountain goat, and mountain sheep roam about these rugged ridge tops, gently sloping alpine meadows, thickly forested river bottoms and open grass parks.
(Research Source)


This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed then follow me. 

Yehaw!!   



Sort:  

Very soothing to the eye. Those photographs could be something you'd find on a retail postcard.

Some incredible places on this planet. Thanks for sharing. :)

My pleasure!!! And thank you for your continued support and kind words!

awesome post..congrats


Wayward Passage - Backcountry Adventures: Almeda Lake Trail, Great Bear Wilderness (VIDEO)

Great photo! Infinite blue. I want to follow you.

Thanks! And please do, I appreciate the support

I saw similar photos only in GEO magazines, and I've never seen photographers on the other side. Thank you for sharing, follow you.

Thanks for checking it out. I was once interested in working with a GEO mag but they wanted too much control of where and what I shoot.

Surreal is the word for this!

very very beautifull and fantastic photography my friend ❤️❤️
ALways be Happy and keep it up❤️
My friend plz follow and Upvote ❤️

Great post.and i will be proud when i follow you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70