Bryce Canyon Wilderness ~ Hoodoo Fortresses on the Edge of the Park

in #photography7 years ago

Laying out on the remote southern edge of Bryce Canyon National Park lays a series of silent Hoodoo structures,  frozen under a thick blanket of snow in the dead of winter. 

As you can see here in this photo there are only a few small paths (which show up clearly in the snow) that traverse this remote and rugged area below the cliffs. This is an area of the park which very rarely gets visited, but there are a couple of dirt roads leading into the area on top and behind the cliffs. This location is far to the south of the main part of the pink cliffs that receive the bulk of the parks visitors.


Here is a link to google maps for the location of this beautiful place.   


I call these structures “Hoodoo Fortresses” because they look like castles with palisades all lined up on the edge of the cliffs. This is located on the Pausaungunt Plateau within the huge Dixie National Forest


I lensed during winter while exploring the wilderness area around the Escalante Grand Staircase National Monument. It was quite cold filming this, well below freezing in the air and even with the manifold heat from the engine coming into the bottom of the cockpit, it was still biting cold. But the air was so clear you could see for miles, clearly over the horizon.


This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed then follow me. 

Yehaw!!   

Sort:  

Bryce Canyon is the most magical place on Earth. Any picture of the park is an instant masterpiece.

Rugged and beautiful. Fantastic photo and narrative as well! Thank you much for sharing and I will be following your project.

I am following you and voting ... so please follow me and vote for me ....

Nice post, thanks for sharing this.
Thou am new here.
I will follow you to gain some knowledge from you

I've been to Zion but not to Bryce Canyon. I think I am missing something very special. Next time, I am in the US, I will need to check it out.

Beautiful place and great shot!

Wow the red tops to the mountains look amazing! Love this image.

Absolutely gorgeous. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40