Bizarre Geologic Formation in the Wilderness South Of Zion National Park

in #photography7 years ago

 I find really strange geologic formations all the time while exploring the remote wilderness areas across the North American Continent. At the base of Hurricane Wash just to the south of Zion National Park inside the Escalante Grand Staircase formation I found this very unusual geological stratified formation. 

This is pretty much impossible to see from the ground, and strangely enough, this place has no name on any topo map.  

I lensed this image while flying on my way to film Zion National Park... as I flew over this it stood out very clearly from above. With such interesting colors and shapes I had to take a shot of it. 

It lays right inside the Arizona border with Utah along the Hurricane Cliffs between Hurricane Wash and Fort Pearce Wash and just north of Coyote Spring. Looking very similar to the elevation lines you would find on a detailed topographic map, these are ridges that have slowly eroded away over time. 

The entire surrounding area is part of the Grand Staircase and the Vermillion Cliffs which is where the beautiful colors come from.  To describe how the different geological layers make up the stratified colors in this image I found a really great graphic online. In this image you can clearly see how the different stratified layers present different colors in the staircase formation. The colors are layered as shown in the following graphic:

  This posting is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well.  

Yehaw!!   

Sort:  

Very cool discovery and great project you are working on!

Great photo

thnx for charing bro

definitly looks like a once Molten liquid sat or sprung from there and made it's mark...almost like an Oil Spill?

your post is very nice, full pack of knowledge and very attractive...
i am new here bro plz come see my blog and upvote me if you like :-)

Zion is one of my favorite places on Earth. Great image.

Awesome as always!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.62
ETH 2642.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59