Big Sur and the Monument of Light

in #photography7 years ago

Point Sur and the California Sea Otter Game Refuge silently observe this spectacular monument of light as it occurs across the Pacific Ocean off of the California coast in Big Sur.

I call this effect a "SunSprite" where the sun is actually not in this image at all. It had set about 15 minutes before and  was now over the horizon and reflecting on the clouds, which in turn are reflected onto the ocean below. This is a very rare and unusual occurrence which can only take place in exactly the right atmospheric conditions.


Like many of my images, I love to turn them into fine art photographic reproductions. This image is called "Monument of Light" and I have made limited copies available to collectors. 

This version is a cropped reproduction created with the Fuji Flex Film process then encased in museum quality acrylic.

This version which is collected by Tom and Julia is reproduced full size with the Giclée process on stretched canvas.

I release my images as ultra high resolution print reproduction in limited editions and I actually will accept crypto currency such as steem, SBD, or Bitcoin.


This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed then follow me. 

Yehaw!!


Sort:  

Wow, great capture!

Great work and an awesome way to support steemit and bitcoin. Keep up the good work.

Thanks and I will, I love steemit and the entire crypto currency construct.

Yes, it's amazing what change crypto is offering. But it opens dors for EMP attacks :(. That would be scary

Absolutely stunning! Reminds me to get printing some of my photographs, and stop viewing them only in Lightroom ;)

This is marvellous! Thank you for sharing such great work :)

Great job! Colors of the sky are amazing!

That is alpenglow in full effect! Thanks!!

Brilliant job , nice photos

Visited Big Sur and loved it.

Very lucky shot )

This is absolutely stunning!

Probably the best I've seen of your work yet. Sets a new standard; pretty hard to live up to your own standard, but that's life..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52