2 Bushplanes Under Blanca Peak on the Zapata Ranch

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is an image I took while camping out on the Zapata Ranch will visiting with my friend; Duke Phillips ~ The Flying Cowboy. He uses his bush plane to help manage and track the cattle, horses bison and elk that live on the Zapata Ranch.

My aircraft is on the left and his on the right. Behind the 2 bush planes lays Blanca Peak on the right, Twin Peaks in the middle and California Peak on the left. 

Blanca Peak is the fourth highest summit of the Rocky Mountains of North America and the U.S. state of Colorado. The ultra-prominent 14,351-foot (4,374 m) peak is the highest summit of the Sierra Blanca Massif, the Sangre de Cristo Range, and the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. (Research Source)

Blanca Peak is known to the First Nations Navajo people as the Sacred Mountain of the East: Sisnaajiní (or Tsisnaasjiní), the Dawn or White Shell Mountain. 

The mountain is considered to be the eastern boundary of the Dinetah, the traditional Navajo homeland. 

It is associated with the color white, and is said to be covered in daylight and dawn and fastened to the ground with lightning. It is gendered male. (Research Source)

There is a polar bear looking down on Dukes bush plane from the mountains behind him...can you see it?

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well.  

Yehaw!!   

Sort:  

I tried but could not see the polar bear.

It is leaning forward and looking down on the yellow plane from the side of the mountain....

Nice one 😊👍🙌💙💚

Really nice love the post!

Blanca is next on my list to climb! Im in Taos for the season, let me buy you a drink next time youre in.

You got good shots of the Taos Ski Valley or Rio Grande Gorge/bridge?

I love it! Do you own that bush plane? I need to start considering the cost. I want to get up in the air with one. bucket list

connect with me on Steemit Chat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63622.11
ETH 2505.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67