MY FIRST DAY IN CALI - My Trip to Cali, Colombia || Arriving Cali (Photo & Story)

In 2012 I received this gift: a ticket for flying to Cali, Colombia, to visit a good friend and almost my brother

Cali is a tropical city but its wheather characteristics are not like Cumana, the city where I come from. In fact, Cali has a very fresh climate.

I was told before my journey that it was going to be cold there, but I didn't know how much. They said Cali was just fresh, and that it was really nice, and yes, maybe it wasn't too cold, but it happens to be a wet city, and it rained almost everyday while I was there. To me it was cool just for being a new place, for tripping, but Cumana is a very warm city, and you get used to that warmness.


I flied to Caracas from Cumana, and from there to Bogota, and finally to Cali. Before I had just seen Miami's airport, and it's nice, but this time since I got on the plane it all was pretty different. Not everytime I went to Miami I had this little screens with music and all stuff, for example, and I'm a pretty unquiet person.

Even when I didn't spend much in Bogota, the sky looked very nice from the inner of the airport, it was pretty open; the feeling was nice.

That's one of the things you perceive when you travel: not only how this new place looks but how it can be perceived sensitively. There's a concept in german: Volksgeist. It is the collective spirit which is within every person in a country. Being in other places and experimenting these feelings make you reflect about those "misteries" we don't stop to appreciate ‒maybe because it's too difficult‒; this particular sensation, we neather know how to cultivate it; it is something almost unconcious.


That day I actually took many pictures, I was pretty excited, but I decided I won't share those ones, because I want more showing you what Cali made me feel and let you appreciate the beauty I met of Colombia, more than maybe the excitement I felt.


In that moment of my life I always had with me some traditional graphic tool, I mean, nothing professional: my color markers or pencils, and always some paper ‒notebook, block or something‒ and that night I painted.

I always painted these flowers: with pens, pencils, on my notebook, here and there. I had this idea of doing many flowers in different colors, and putting some volume, creating deepness but with the same color, and then adding to all of them the last shade in black and defining the lines.

It seems to be something basic, I mean, it is, but it reminds me some of the dinamic with my brother, because he always appreciated pretty much what I do. He always told me how cool I was and how cool was everything I made. He is a pretty nice person too.

All of these pictures where taken by myself.

This is the first post of a sort of serie I'm doing for sharing my trip.


NEXT POSTS:

  • Cali's Zoo
  • Autonomous university of Occident
  • National Park Of Coffee
  • San Antonio Hills

... and others places.

THANK YOU!

Sort:  

So nice! Beautiful the feeling of knowing new and beautiful places.

Super cool, yes. Greetings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57