My childhood memories...

in #photography7 years ago

All pictures on this blog is taken using an anamorphic lens.. Now i shall begin!

My childhood memories of this place is still very clear. This is Rochor Center.
buildings.jpg
A famous government housing project in Singapore that was completed in 1977. These buildings are somewhat similar to the Council Flats in the UK, where apartment blocks were built and sold to the public at a discounted rate... to solve the problem of the population boom in Singapore back in the 70s. In Singapore, these are called HDBs also known as the Housing & Development Board.

Okay enough of the history lesson and let me show you some pictures!

2.jpg

Time for my side of the story!

I used to come here as a small kid. My parents would take me here every weekend as there was a famous Buddhist temple nearby where they went to and prayed.

Before we would go to the temple, we'd spent a little time in Rochor center, sometimes eating, shopping for groceries and getting my favourite Mr. Softee ice cream at the 7 eleven on the ground floor. It was a bustling place. If you'd ever want to experience a normal Singaporean way of life in a small area, this would be it!

15.jpg
13.jpg
14.jpg
5.jpg

It wasn't until in 2015 that the government announced their plans to demolish this jewel to make way for an expressway.

I had to go back again. It was my last chance to re-live my childhood experiences as an adult. I went to areas I'd never been to.

19.jpg
23.jpg
18.jpg
20.jpg
10.jpg
17.jpg
22.jpg
11.jpg
9.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

I had always knew there was a roof garden at the top, but this was my first time there.

I saw a cat!

4.jpg

People had already started moving out and clearing their houses. Shops were mostly closed. The mood around here was dull. People knew the historic significance of this place. I think everyone was sad that this was going to go.

3.jpg
12.jpg

In the basement, lies a giant carpark. It had many interesting views from below.

16.jpg
21.jpg
1.jpg

It is sad to see such an iconic place in Singapore and in my childhood, to make way for an expressway. But good things don't last forever I guess... only the photos do.

I hope you liked this short blog post. If you like to see more of these, follow me if you're interested! My instagram page also holds everything there. You just get to read more about my thoughts over here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70