This is not how this was supposed to be...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

E2469_A2_A_DBC1_4_AAB_BDFD_98816_C497_B35

When I first decided to start contributing here on #steemit I thought that I’d be writing and posting videos about my experiences with psychedelics and the paranormal...magick and music. But that’s not what has been inspiring me lately.

I’ve been going through the pictures which I’ve taken over the past year and a half and...they’re good. Granted, I’m no professional photographer but some of these pics make me want to get them printed and displayed. So why not display them here? For you fine folks.

I’ve learned to appreciate things for what they are and I’m fascinated by history and decay. The tracks of those who came before us. I’m new to Ireland and haven’t explored much yet here but...the past year and a half in Spain was truly an eye opening experience for me (which I will detail in a future post). But, for now, I’ll just post some pictures.

The one at the head of this article struck me as odd. A dusty and rusty gate which leads to...nowhere. Seems like the people in this region of Galicia liked to fence things in. You see fences and walls around...nothing. Makes no sense to me. And it’s almost like a metaphor. They’ve also fenced in their lives and their minds. Not everyone, mind you, but some of the people.

C8045663_A036_4_E7_D_8228_1_F632_F0144_FF

Looks almost like some...creature. With teeth. An old abandoned chapel which was on a property that we considered buying for about three seconds. It was an entire small village which was for sale at a ridiculously high price. You see, it seems that people way overvalue things. A wonderful piece of history which someone else will have to commit to restoring.

65860519_8752_4314_951_B_4422744_D28_B6

This is the view down a hallway of an old, abandoned psychiatric hospital complex. This place spanned acres. It’s own city, you might say. It was fascinating and I have a ton more pictures which I will likely post at a later date since this place is worthy of its own article.

3330_FC71_6_A88_45_F9_8_A77_122_A03_EB3_E62

These next pictures are all part of an (again) abandoned old house adjacent to my great-aunt’s. Above is a view of the stairs leading up to the front door. These stone houses are amazing. One rock on top of another with smaller ones perfectly shaped and placed to fill in the gaps. It’s an art. And it’s magick.

A0_F4_B417_100_A_4_F82_A975_4_EB87_C735_B35

The door to the pens or stables where the livestock were housed. For years everyone in the village had cows, pigs, etc. Nowadays there’s hardly any people left, let alone animals. The government has implemented so many regulations that it’s no longer economically feasible. And it’s a shame.

20_C86_E92_9177_4351_940_A_FDDE7_D1_C357_C

You have to wonder what was seen through this window over all of those years...

History. It’s magickal.

Sort:  

Great photos! Nothing like the 1st time investigating an abandoned property!

Thanks. And you’re right.

Wonderful! ⚡

Thank you. Sometimes it feels like I’m talking to myself. Haha.

Congratulations @sindo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sindo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45