The Meloe Beetle

in #photography7 years ago

I like bugs.
Those of you who follow me for a long time know I love taking macro photos of bugs, and this time we've got the Meloe beetle, which is a very pretty black and metallic blue beetle.

IMG_20180120_150557_fixed.jpg

It is common here in Israel starting mid-winter and until the end of the summer. The adults are rather large, and feed on local plants.

IMG_20180120_150402_fixed.jpg

The Meloe beetle seems harmless, as it usually is, but if you touch it, it may release dangerous poison with an irritating smell, these are only for seeing, not touching!

Enjoy :)

Simba

Sort:  

Daumn! that's a nice color! i wonder if they make that shade for cars? could be amazing.

They do, actually, and totally my dream car color :)

ohhh god...bugs are not my passion!)
I have smth like a phobia for them, but if they are far from me, like here in the photo, I can look and enjoy))

the color is fantastic! indigo it is called yes? I adore it and I am ready even to be tolerant to bugs to enjoy it!
There are few things in nature with such a color(

The color is incredible :) thanks a lot :) I only like taking photos of bugs, I dont like the actual bugs :)

WOW. I am just amazed.. The color is breath-taking. Sometimes I get astonished on God's Creation.. LOVELY.!!
Thanks for sharing.. Have a nice day. ! !

photography is very cool, I really like the post @simba, please visit my blog.

a very beautiful animals and has such beautiful colors.

nice picture

I really like the animals in the picture above

I love The Beatles!!! And beetles too..

Lol I just caught one and picked it up and been handling it thinking it was a queen ant.10 minutes later no swelling or itching though so I guess I lucked out. :) @simba

it must have liked you :D

Well sometimes they don't get stressed enough to release that shit I guess... we'll know if we don't hear from you again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81