The blue sky over my city and one of the Churches in Pistoia (Italy)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Today there was a beautiful blue sky over my city and so I couldn't resist to take some photos during my daily walking! In the following pics you can see the Church of Santa Maria delle Grazie, placed in San Lorenzo square (Pistoia, Italy). Today, when me and hubby walked close to it, it was closed, so I couldn't take some pics inside it to share with you.

I really interesting in the Church's inside, because in the ancient time these buildings were the only buildings where all citizen could see some pieces of art and also today we can find there many interesting ancient artworks and beautiful architectures.

This little church is known because it does seems to have been built over an ancient hospital room where a young girl had a miraculous recovery thanks to Saint Mary in the 1336. In the 1469 was built the actual Church in Renaissance style. 

Inside the Church we can find the ancient bed where the young girl had the miraculous recovery, so this Church is also known as the Church "Saint Mary of the bed". On the bed was painted the portrait of Saint Mary in the style of Giotto and some people usually pray in front of it to ask good health for their relatives.

There is also another interesting thing to see inside this church: a wonderful pipe organ built in the 1755 by Filippo and Antonio Tronci (ancestors of an uncle of my hubby ^_^).

The next time I'll try to take some pics of the inside (if there are not persons who are praying, sure!), because it's really interesting to see.

See ya soon and steem on!

Silvia


silvia beneforti

Sort:  

I love old architecture like this beautiful an the miracle of healing too!

Italy is a treasure of culture, religion and churches. One life is short to see all the beauties that Italy has.

I agree with you :D

Beautiful clear cobalt blue - this is what Michelangelo so loved : )

Beautiful church, it looks so small though.
Why no pictures of this inside?

Today this Church was closed and so I can't enter inside ^_^

Thank You, Sylvia! I love the stories and pictures of Pistoia. Amazing city. Your story is very well accompanied by these photos. I sometimes think that I walk these streets. It is very nice.!

My city is full of stories to tell and it's nice also for me to share them. I think it's a nice way to know better my city also for me ^_^

Very wonderful....
Good job. And success is always for you @silviabeneforti....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60420.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60