A prison that seems a castle ^_^

I admit that I didn't see other prisons like this (Ok, I didn't see many prisons in my life ^_^), but every time I see this castle I think it's really awesome as a prison ;)

Even if it was building in a ancient style, this building is just about 80 years old and it called "Santa Caterina in Brana" (Brana is the name of the river close to it).

It's a little and "soft" prison, just for people who are awaiting trial for minor crimes, so there aren't very dangerous people who live there. The building is almost near at the center of the city (Pistoia, Italy) and I see it very often because I usually buy foods in the market close to it (I took the prevous pic from the parking of the market ^_^).

Many years ago, when I worked in taking care of drug and alcohol addictioners for a local institution, I was inside this prison. Don't worry, it was just for some documents about a person who was our patient (a sad story, a young guy who had drug's problem and he was deaf and mute).

I was there just for few minutes, but I have to say that it was an hard experience for my claustrophobia ;)

In the following pic (source) you can see the entrance of this prison:

See ya later!

Silvia



silvia beneforti

Sort:  

It is truly a magnificent building and an old prison that looks like an architectural masterpiece

Hello my dear! Beautiful building! Really it seems like castle, we have in Morocco 🇲🇦 some building like that but in the old cities.
Have a nice day.

It's interesting that the prison is near the city centre but I guess since it has been around for so long it's unavoidable.

I agree with you ^_^

hey, I'm so happy for you for having such an opportunity to see this beautiful place!
Be love!

That sure is an interesting building. Good you were only inside for a few minutes :)

@silviabeneforti you definitely deserve a big thumbs up your article are different from many other people and even mine that makes you different so keep the good work going.And guide me as I am quite new to this platform steemit.

The best tips that I can give to newbie are: have patience, write about what you're interested in, read an comment the content in the topics that you like have fun ;)

Yup fella I am also new to this platform

i visited an old prison which become a museum now in Jakarta two years ago.
I follow and upvote you, please visit mine :)

https://steemit.com/blog/@diannafirefly/hutan-tropis-indonesia-sebagai-penopang-kehidupan-yang-perlu-dilestarikan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59841.39
ETH 2413.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43