Waking Up to a Desert Flower in Bloom

A friend sent me these photos of
a night blooming flower taken after midnight
under the full moon of the Sonoran Desert.

One of the strangest plants of the desert, the night blooming cereus, is a member of the cactus family that resembles nothing more than a dead bush most of the year. It is rarely seen in the wild because of its inconspicuousness. But for one midsummer's night each year, its exqusitely scented flower opens as night falls, then closes forever with the first rays of the morning sun.
Source: Desert USA

These very fragrant trumpet-shaped flowers have numerous petals. The flower is about 4 inches wide and as much as 8 inches long and blooms for only one night!

I think that life is made more beautiful
when one is able to collect beautiful moments such as
the blooming of this desert flower under the full moon.

Thank you, my friend, for sharing this beautiful moment of nature.

Thank you for allowing me to share with you. I hope to see you again soon! STAY AWESOME!


Sort:  

Carpé diem baby, or carpé night’em as the case may be 😘👍

Exactly... one needs to seize the moment, especially with this desert flower! Thanks for stopping by, @thedamus! I appreciate it. Take care.

What an exquisite flower!

Exquisite.... yes it is! Thanks for stopping by! It is good to smell the flowers. Take care!

What a very unique flower there Saver. A very short lived bloom.🌹

Isn't this so special! It is amazing! The beauty of creation!

you post the most awesome flowers thank you

Thank you for being first to comment on this article. I suppose by now you realize that I am keeping tabs of first commenters of my post, LOL! Take care, my friend! Have a geat day.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for your continued support, @ssg-community!

Wow! Great timing! Only once a uear too! It is a beautiful flower, and I can almost smell it! 🌵🌼 This post made me smile 😄 Take care my SSFL👊💗

Amazing how it only blooms once... it is a great reminder for me to always capture the moment. Sometimes, a life-changing moment comes in a person's time, and when one is unable to capture it, it passes... never again does the moment come back... it just doesn't repeat again. Then it is gone, forever!Take care my SSFL👊💗

How beautiful! thanks for sharing

This... made me smile! Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, my friend! I appreciate you. Take care.

@silversaver888 think of how much better we would be if we could understand that our lives here are much like this flower. Sure to us that night is a short period, but to that flower it makes every moment even more special. We think we have so much time on this plain, but really it is just the blink of an eye to the universe. We all, myself included and especially, need to learn to slow it down and realize how amazing the moment we have are. Thank you for this touching post my friend! Thank you especially for making the moments we have here better and for making this community so good.

Sometimes, I am at a loss for words and do not know how to respond to your comments. Life is good always, no matter what, because things always works for the best. Sometimes we fail to realize it because we are so caught up with the busy-ness and the material stuff of this life...

@silversaver888 yet you always respond so well :) I could not agree more with you. Sometimes, we get worked up because we can not see the whole playing field, but there is always a plan and as you said it works out. Thank you my friend!!

Whenever I’m feeling down or depressed I can always turn to one of your posts and feel inspired and happy! You are definitely a photo artist!

Oh my, cugino! Fight against feeling down and depressed. Sadness is the ally of the enemy. If you ever do need anything, I am just a discord away!

that is a great way to put it these post always bring a smile to my face

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77