Massive quartz reef crumbling in the Australian Outback

in #photography7 years ago

P1010100_1755.JPG

I found this massive quartz reef that has been crumbling for millions of year while out gold detecting using my awesome Aussie made Minelab GPX4500 in the Western Australian outback.

P1010101_1756.JPG

These quartz reef outcrops in some occasions contain gold veins inside the quartz host rock, as the rock is weathered over millions of years these host rocks get smaller over time releasing the gold inside. As you can see in my photo’s the quartz rubble, has spread out hundreds of meters in every direction.

P1010098_1753.JPG

P1010097_1752.JPG

Most pieces were between the sizes of a baseball up to about the size of a soccer ball. I wasn’t able to detect much in this area because it was just too dangerous for our ankles, as the rock would roll underfoot.

P1010099_1754.JPG

P1010104_1759.JPG

Thanks for visiting my post and I hope you found it interesting.

Sort:  

Amazing.

Yes it's a pretty amazing place. Cheers

Bang! This post is Original
This post have been upvoted and curated
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the community of #whalepower tag, Reblogged when ever you can.
Latest Blog

So, that's how rock box was made!

Thank you my friend, cheers

Wow, what a place! You Rock Hound, you.

Drove my wife crazy when I got interested in the subject of gold veins in quartz deposits while hiking in the US Smokey Mountains. There's lots of pyrite too, which easily makes you the king of fools.

Then after a trip to an actual gold mine in Idaho, I came home with a handful of high-grade ore with visible veins in every piece of quartz. Nice but had to purchase it.

It's an awesome place my friend, but you have to have your wits about you out there. One lapse of concentration and you can be lost in the middle of nowhere, you could walk for 20 miles in any direction and it will look exactly the same as when you started. Cheers

Picture perfect for me. Love it.

Your photo collections deserve an up vote.
Please follow me @Yehey

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54