Foolish Carnival Self Portraits

in #photography6 years ago

Dear fools,

it's this time of the year again, where everybody is allowed to dress up and be foolish. In Germany people go crazy for carnival mostly in the Rhineland area like in Cologne/Bonn, Düsseldorf and Mainz.

IMG_4938_Fotor.jpg

Although I'm not really a huge fan of artificial gaiety, you can't really run away. At least, if you have kids, you have to take part in one of the countless carnival parades.

This year was a bit different because our little daughter got a cold. So here are some images of my crazy clown times from the last years.

IMG_4963_Fotor.jpg

clown1_Fotor.jpg


Make-up History

While I was searching for more images, I came across some funny dress-up photos from my youth. They are not affiliated with carneval, but rather with some performance art, I did.

IMG_9410_Fotor.jpg

Are you into carnival or into dressing up?

If so, please share some photos in the comments!

IMG_9408_Fotor2.jpg

IMG_9408_Fotor.jpg


Thanks in advance!

@shortcut - clown, fool & more



creativity is based on freedom

Sort:  

Hi, i always LOVED the idea of dressing up, and to be someone else for a few hours ! I would not miss a halloween party !!! I know it is not the same as Carnival, but i guess i have never been in one. I think i only have one princess costume photo ... :-( That i can share with you! Is that count? :-)
feher ruhas.jpg

Wow! Thanks a lot for your beautiful contribution :-)
You look like a princess at her wedding day and the analog photography fits very well.

Thank You ! :-)

Thank You :-)

Imagine if everyday were Carinval ;-)

I'll never forget my first experience in Cologne during Carnival, I came to work unsuspecting. As soon as I walked into the building a secretary grabbed me by the necktie and pulled me to a room filled with laughing women in heavy makeup. They took out some scissors and cut off my tie!

Haha! I can imagine, how you felt. Did you know, that "Weiberfastnacht" has it's origins in the district of Bonn, where I live? Hopefully you got some "Bützchen" for compensation ;-)

Es ist an diesem Tag seit Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts Brauch, dass Frauen den Männern die Krawatte als Symbol der männlichen Macht abschneiden. So laufen die Männer nur noch mit einem Krawattenstumpf herum, wofür sie mit einem Bützchen (Küsschen) entschädigt werden.

Source

"Have i done it this time? Have i managed to go completely insane?"
This would be a normal thought to have, if one were to unknowingly stumble upon Carnival celebrations.
Obviously, i couldn't help but asking the very same thing in full awareness of the position i was in. Truly refreshing thoughts to have though, to exorcize the mundanity of daily life. Hopefully i'll manage to dispell this boring situation in full carnivalesque spirit!

But back to the core of the discussion, i wanted to ask:

Venice hosts one of the nicest carnivals i have been to in my life, have you ever been there?

[...] exorcize the mundanity of daily life [and] manage to dispell this boring situation in full carnivalesque spirit!

It can be great, if it's celebrated in this spirit, but these days it's more like a mass drinking orgy. Everybody is forced to be foolish and they mean singing some strange german songs makes them rebels.

The only carnival outside Germany I approached, was at the canary island Tenerife and it was much like I expect brazilian carneval to be. But I definitely will have to see the Venice carnival and even Mardi Gras one day. Would (at least) be great for some photography posts on Steemit ;-)

I think it is a wonderful idea. It would be fun and a cultural tradition. Sadly we in America are so afraid of clowns and such weaklings to challenge what is socially politically correct. But I LOVE THE IDEA!!!!

I actually thought, that Mardi Gras is in the tradition of carnival. And then there is Burning Man and the Gathering of the Juggalos... at least there are some options ;-)

I am here in Tenerife at the moment and it is my first carnival experience (im from New Zealand). I have never experienced anything like it and loving it..Spanish people know how to throw a good party! !

Cool! I‘ve been at carnival in Tenerife once and it was amazing ;-) Enjoy!

We have a carnival in Croatia, so ... we are all into that. As for the dressing up, I don't know, I am pretty sketchy even casually dressed.

Helau. Wir bereiten uns auf Morgen vor. :-) Der Zug kommt!

Alaaf! Viel Spaß :-)

Haha, this post made me laugh a lot @shortcut!

Thanks once again for sharing, great smile :P


t.

Thanks Thijs, glad you dig it :-)
Did you know, that there's a dutch discord? I thought you might be interested.

You just made me aware of it, HOW great! :) why did you know this earlier than me lol

Thanks for the support my friend


t.

alsjeblieft ;-)

Der Clown ist dir sehr gelungen! :)

Danke dir ;-)

You made it so professional one I really like it goodjob

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69156.99
ETH 3771.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44