📷 Watching Airplanes Land On A Beautiful Sunset In Taipei City

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I felt like a child again

Yesterday was a beautiful day with high altitude clouds, so I decided to visit Taipei's SongShan airport to watch and photograph them land.

It was my first time visiting this place, and the best place to view the airplanes is a street right next to the airport that runs parallel to the runway strip.

Here is a shot of the street where I viewed the incoming descending planes. The high clouds created a beautiful sunset as an added bonus!

I missed the first few landings, and adjusted my camera settings accordingly to take continuous frames, and used manual focus instead, pre-focusing where I thought the plane would be.

This is an animated GIF that I made from 9 photos I shot, I was crouching low to try and also get the plane's mirror image in the puddle.


[may take a while to load: 3.35 MB]

Here's another landing where I tried to track the plane's movement by panning.


[may take a while to load: 2.90 MB]


Equipment Used

  • Camera: Sony A7
  • Lens: Zeiss 24-70mm f/4
  • Software: Lightroom and Photoshop


Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

My goal is to share with this wonderful community my passion in photography, and hopefully contribute to the awesome inspirational content on Steemit.

I read and try to respond to all comments, and welcome any photography related questions and feedback!

Sort:  

Beautiful.

Yeah! those are f'n cool. I really like the first gif. Threw me off guard when I scrolled down. : )

LOL, didn't expect it huh, now I've got ideas for Halloween :D

Pretty fantastic gif!

Thank you @daveks, I was like wow, woah, the whole time as planes were landing and taking off!

I love how you captured the planes during sundown... awesome!

Thank you @sunscape, I had fun shooting it :)

Wow.
Which street is it? And how to get there? :)

臺北松山機場西邊的一個巷子,飛機巷,跟跑道平行很好找!

Those gifs are awesome! I haven't done this in a while, makes me want to go to the airport now! Thanks for sharing :) Great photos!

Thank you so much @droidsid!

Endless road to an endless adventure

That's pretty wild. The first gif is almost like a cartoon. Great capture and final edits. Thanks for putting them out. (Bet it was a bit noisy out there as well. Earplugs, anyone?)

Oh ya it was very loud when they flew over us!

I can imagine.

I should try some of those gif photos! I feel like doing them with a tripod would help.

Yes of course, but I didn't bring one that day lol :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66