📷 Taiwan Blue Magpie - Endemic Species [original photos]

in #photography8 years ago

Taiwan blue magpie (Urocissa caerulea)

The Taiwan blue magpie is a species of bird of the crow family, and is endemic to Taiwan. Its tail can range from 34–42 cm (13–17 in) in length, with a total body length of around 63–68 cm (25–27 in).

These birds are quite common near forest areas and are usually not afraid of people. The photos shown in this post were all taken right outside where I live.

They are usually found in groups of three to twelve, and are quite social. The ones shown here were nesting outside my apartment, as there are many tall trees and fresh water nearby.

This one is eyeing me :D

They are scavengers and omnivorous. Here I caught one about to tear into a freshly caught frog.

Similar to crows, they have a loud and noisy high-pitched call.

Too bad this shot was not in focus :(

The long tail makes this bird look quite majestic, but sometimes their faces can also make you smile :)

Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Information source: wikipedia


Sort:  

Excellent shots!

Thanks for the support :)

What a beautiful bird! Never saw one before!

It's beautiful and sometimes funny looking with the expressions it makes :D
Judging from your posts, are you from Canada?

Yes, I'm from Canada. I'm used to see crow totally black from head to toe:
https://steemit.com/montreal/@heroic15397/amazing-birds-in-the-greater-montreal-area
I wish we also have these colourful ones.

Hey I used to live in Ottawa, from '93 to '03. I've visited Montreal's old town, it's quite nice :)
Canada has a lot of other colorful birds that we don't have here in Taiwan :)

I'm in Montreal, but I went to visit Ottawa twice in the last couple of years.
I was thinking about making a post about my trips there, but it doesn't include any (colorful or not) birds. :-)

Ewee. Nice catch with the frog lunch. Hey, I found you through jamtaylor. Following now. Cheers.

Hey thanks, I checked your posts and also followed :)

Thank you @shieha, looking forward to sharing photos with you. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39