📷 Tainan - The Ancient Capital of Taiwan - Part 1 [original travel photos]

in #photography8 years ago (edited)


Last weekend I went to Tainan City in southern Taiwan to attend a friend's wedding. I was pretty busy helping out with the wedding as his best man so I didn't have much time to shoot a lot of photos. In this post I'll be sharing some photos I took during the free time I had on that trip.

Brief Introduction of Tainan

Tainan used to be the capital of Taiwan, and has a rich cultural history, having been through Dutch, Chinese and Japanese occupation during its recent history. The city is home to more temples than any other city in Taiwan and is known for its many local foods.

Countless historical buildings and sites still exist in this old city such as the Dutch Fort Zeelandia and Fort Provintia, two of the most visited sites in Tainan. Walking around in this city one almost gets a sense of travelling back in time, as many old buildings as well as different architectural styles reflect the city's history.

Here are some photos from my latest trip to Tainan.

Temples

Below are some temples that I came across in Tainan.

Street Photos

I took these while wandering around the city while enjoying the local food as I do so :)

Tainan Food

And of course, how can a trip to Tainan not include food! However, since I'm a vegetarian, there are many famous local foods that I can't eat :( There's a vegetarian dim sum place that I go to every time I visit Tainan, as well as shaved ice and zongzi, glutinous rice stuffed with peanuts wrapped in leaves.


And lastly... as I was walking around in Tainan one night, I saw this.

The Steemit logo made up of tiles on the sidewalk!



Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Critiques and comments are welcomed!

Questions on technique employed or gear are also welcomed!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

The east is so colourful! Your photos are beautiful as per usual.

Thank you so much :)

Tainan, oh, Tainan ... I miss the city. Welcome back!

I can never get enough of Tainan, there's just so much to explore and eat :)
Heading back there next week, as part of our company's annual trip this year to Chiayi and Tainan.

That temple is really wonderful! I visited a similar looking one, at least as far as the dragons on the roofline in Taipei in 2001. It's really great seeing the differences compared to the relatively austere temples in Japan!

Thanks, there are over 1500 temples in Tainan City alone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51