📷 Long Exposures at the Blue Hour with Light Painting

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The fun starts after the sun has just set...

Today I'd like to show you guys the way I go about spicing up a photograph using light painting. Here's an example of a shot I took by the coast that uses this technique.

The tools I use are a very powerful flashlight, such as this:

image source

And color filters, the most common one I use is an orange one:

image source

First I compose the picture, if needed I use the flashlight to illuminate my subject to help with focusing. Then everything is setup on a tripod and the exposure is set to BULB mode.

I then start the exposure on the camera, while I use the flashlight in conjunction with the color filter held in front of the light to add orange light to where I point the flashlight. The important thing here is where I choose to shine the light and from which direction I point the light from.

I usually avoid shining the light directly at the subject from the camera's point of view, since that creates a front-lit scene devoid of textures, similar to what you would see with a photo shot with a popup flash.

When I think I've covered the areas I want with the desired light, I stop the exposure. Usually the process involves multiple tries to get the image I'm satisfied with.

At the end this is what I get:


Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Critiques and comments are welcomed!

Questions on technique employed or gear are also welcomed!

Sort:  

What a great technique. Beautiful results. I will definitly try this one out. Thanks for sharing.
Tweeted: https://twitter.com/BartVeeken/status/860699958747561985

BartVeeken Shots tweeted @ 06 May 2017 - 03:37 UTC

#Steemit #Photography #Art

steemit.com/photography/@s… / https://t.co/yQpoQY38oh

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thank you so much @bart2305, hope you will have fun!

Very nice! I'll have to try that! :)

Those are great photos. The orange filter produced amazing results!

Thank you @countryinspired, yes I love that filter!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52