📷 Light Painting At Xi Ben Yuan Temple - A Collection

in #photography7 years ago

Today I'd like to show some photos I took at Xi Ben Yuan Temple over the past two years. The original Buddhist temple was built during the Japanese occupation of Taiwan and has since gone through restoration projects to maintain the historic buildings. Sadly the main temple is gone now, only the bell tower remains as the main attraction.

Taiwan sits on active faults, so earthquakes are quite common. Thus I try to record any historical buildings while they are still standing :)

This is a shot of the bell tower lit by ambient lights.

Here's another shot of the bell tower lit by a flashlight with an orange filter.

This is a more recent shot I took, with the light from my flashlight coming from behind the bell tower, lighting the undersides of the roof. This angle took some adjustment to hide all the street lights from view, you can see some leakage from behind the wooden posts of the bell tower.

A shot of a building within the area. I stood behind the pillar while pointing the flashlight in all directions. The first few attempts failed due to the light from the flashlight leaking into view, so I had to be careful not to over-extend the light.


Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Critiques and comments are welcomed!

Questions on technique employed or gear are also welcomed!

Sort:  

cool pic, would like to know what equipment you are using
followed anyway :)

Thanks @kitcat, I use mostly Sony A7 with either 16-35mm or 24-70mm lens.

Beautifully taken pictures. I like them a lot

Thank you @nicnas, really appreciate it.

@shieha
The high quality and professionalism of your photos makes me feel as though I'm there seeing those places in person! Amazing work! Keep up the fine work! :)

Thank you so much for the awesome feedback @breakingtonight!

You're welcome! Always glad to offer my feedback and opinions! :)

Most interesting results @shieha. Can you post exposure times, please? Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thanks @photo-trail, these were shot in bulb mode, I stopped the exposure when I was done lighting all the various parts of the scene. So around 30 to 60 seconds or more.

Wow those photos look really awesome.... The beauty of its Bell just adds more to it

Stunning pictures! Great job, I look forward to seeing more. up voted and followed

Thank you for your support @jdawg!

Thanks for the virtual tour, shieha :)

You're welcome @simba!

WOW amazing photography skills

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51