📷 How I Won My First Photography Contest

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I was browsing through my old photos when...

It was 2013 and League of Legends was the game I'd play quite often. One day I saw the ad for a League of Legends photography contest in the game and thought to myself, "why not?" The contest was based in Taiwan and based around the Lantern Festival, so the theme was to photograph lanterns of the characters in the game.

When I found out about the contest, it was literally the day before the deadline, so I rushed to the place where the lanterns were on display and took this shot:

I placed my Canon 450D on a tripod, using a 10-22mm lens, I set the exposure to around 1 second. Just before the exposure ended, I zoomed the lens out, creating the bursting of light sources effect.

All the other shots I made after this one were pretty bad, so I entered the photo above for the contest.

A few weeks later I was notified that my photo had placed in the top 10, and another round of voting was to take place. League of Legends players could vote on their favorite out of the 10, and influence the outcome of the eventual top 3 winners.

I remember feeling ecstatic and told all my friends to vote for my entry, as well as asking players in the game to vote, after all, this was my first time entering a photography contest and I made it this far. It was all really exciting.

Then came the day when I was notified that my photo had won 1st place. I had to fill out a form and then eventually I received in the mail a Canon EOS M with a 18-55mm lens as my prize. It would be my first mirror-less camera.

I guess I was lucky to have won first place, since I didn't prepare much for the photo. My later attempts at photography contests were not so lucky.


Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Critiques and comments are welcomed!

Questions on technique employed or gear are also welcomed!

Sort:  

哈哈哈 好酷的得獎經驗, 我記得我跟我哥都有投稿, 然後你這張真的不錯哈哈 我們記得其他有些超雷的ㄟ哈哈XD。那次的花燈還蠻讓人感受覺得在峽谷裡XD

哈哈,靠運氣啦!

Good story! Very beautiful photo! I have to try more often to join photo contests

@shieha This is awesome! Congrats on when you one your first one! :) If you get the chance, can you upvote my newest post where I teach you how to become a millionaire with crypto? :) Thanks! https://steemit.com/money/@parkermorris/become-a-millionaire-in-the-next-5-years-with-these-5-simple-steps

Thank you @parkermorris, upvoted and followed!

This is most interesting effect tutorial @shieha, with a nice story along. You are going to get double feature 😊

Thank you @photo-trail!

@shieha Great post, Love it!!

An awesome pic here! I'll have to toy with the light burst effect, sound like it could lead to some interesting low-light photos

Thank you @liberty-minded, definitely give it a try!

Awesome photo!upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51