📷 Beauty in the Details - Super Close-ups of a Moth's Wing [original photos]

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Intricate Beauty

Nature's Work of Art

I spotted this moth a while ago and noticed it wasn't moving, so I took it home and shot a few close-up photos of its scaly wings before setting it free. When I viewed the photos on my computer, I was intrigued by the structure and details of its wings. The iridescent colors are also really beautiful. This got me interested for my later project, close-ups of butterfly wings, which I posted here on Steemit a while back (link below).

I shot these with a Canon EOS M camera, using a 100 mm macro lens with a 18-55 mm lens in reverse to the 100 mm lens. Lighting was done with a flash and diffuser. The vignetting is caused by such a lens combination and also stopping the 100 mm lens down, the 18-55 mm lens was wide open.




A closer crop of some scales.


The moth that didn't want to move, this is a focus-stacked shot of 12 images.


Links to related posts on close-ups of insect wings



Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Critiques and comments are welcomed!

Questions on technique employed or gear are also welcomed!

Sort:  

Really great! (;

Thank you :)

Very nice!
A tame moth, very convenient.

I think it may have been breathing its last breaths when I found it :(

It's nature and all that, but feels like it's a shame nonetheless.

Amazing. I thought it was some light display.

Thanks, well it is technically a display of reflected light :)

You're welcome. Everything is a display of reflected light, right? Total darkness=no light=need flashlight. :-)

Wow, macro is sure a whole new world! Beautiful!

Thanks, it never ceases to amaze me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61467.71
ETH 3435.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51