📷 Ants & Caterpillars - Super Macro Photography

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Artistic Portraits of Tiny Critters

Today I'd like to share some macro photography work I shot with my Canon 450D DSLR camera. For these shots I used a 100mm f/2.8 macro lens coupled with a reversed 50mm f/1.8 lens. I also used a flash with a diffuser. The whole setup looks quite ridiculously large, like so:

The setup is quite weighty and cumbersome to use out in the field, but here's what I captured with this setup.


Close-up of an ant, too bad I missed the focus on the eye.



A profile shot of the same ant.



A caterpillar with a red head greeted my lens :)



Details of the body section of the above caterpillar.



A different species of caterpillar, missed focus again but hey look at the water droplet :)



It looked up curiously at my lens, as it is probably about less than 1 cm away from it :) I like the dreamy portrait of this critter.



Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Critiques and comments are welcomed!

Questions on technique employed or gear are also welcomed!

Sort:  

excellent capture of the little friends

Thank you :)

great macro shots....good work!! up an resteemed*

Thanks again for the kind words and resteem!

magnifique :)

Thank you, oops I mean merci beaucoup :)

Nice! Also good to see your huge set-up doesn't scare the critters away 8-).

Thank you! Haha I'm sure they were thinking what that big black thing was :)

Fabulous captures, I love the last one the most!

Thank you, me too!

Very cool and awesome photos ! But I hate bugs ! Lol !😉👍

Thanks for the kind words! LOL

Gorgeous Photos!!

Thank you!

The world of tiny creatures is amazing when a skilled photographer brings it to our level. Great stuff @shieha!

Thank you for the kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60582.68
ETH 2607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55