📷 Domestic wildlife - A stork´s home-comingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians!

During my visit of the animal park last Sunday I was lucky to capture the very moment when a stork arrived back at his nest, and got received by it´s partner.

We will probably never be able to put ourselves into the brain of an animal and thus can´t prove or disprove animal self-consciousness in a definite manner. Still, if I see a scene like this, it´s hard to believe, that the two birds´ behaviour is purely instinct-driven.

What do you think? What´s going on in the brains of these two storks in the moment of this home-coming?

Thanks for reading,
Shaka


Follow me @shaka


Always 100% SP!


Sort:  

Very nice photos, thanks for sharing!

What do you think? What´s going on in the brains of these two storks in the moment of this home-coming?

Well, I have no stork brain. :) But yes, I think they feel similar like us.

Furthermore I am actually very sure that many animals are not only "instinct-driven". They don't have the same cognitive abilities like us, but (depending on the species) they definitely are able to think consciously.

When I have time I may write an article about interesting examples of intelligent animal behavior.

It´s definitely a very interesting topic and lot´s of studies have been done to reveal animal self-consciousness. With the mirror experiment being the most prominent one. Locking forward reading your post about it.

With the mirror experiment being the most prominent one.

That's indeed a very fascinating one, but there many other great ones, too: for example a test if chimpanzees can imagine what other individuals are thinking.

You really inspired me to write about that (I just have to wait for a good moment until I have enough time again).

Nice one!
The storks are out here in The Netherlands as well, a few more every year.

Thanks. Same here, the number of storks is increasing every year. It seems a lot has been done in the past years to help the population grow.

As always beautiful pictures!

Thank you @timsaid, glad to hear that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94