Discovering the Allgäu - From Mittelberg along the Gemsteltal, Part 1

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

IMG_4932-1.jpg

Hello Steemians!

I'm reporting back from my vacation which I could spend once again in the beautiful Allgäu. The Allgäu is a region in the very south of Germany but also reaches into Austria. It stretches from the prealpine region in Bavarian Swabia to the Allgaeu Alps, an up to 2600 m high mountain range.

The region offers countless opportunities for outdoor activities, from easy hikes to alpine fixed rope routes and is thus one of my favorite regions to enjoy an active recreational break.

The first small hike I started in the Austrian Kleinwalsertal near the village of Mittelberg. The broad hiking trail leads gently uphill along the little creek Gemstelbach. The ideal starting tour to taste the typical Allgäu ambience:

thumb.jpg
The view on the outside of the village Mittelberg, the hike's starting point.

IMG_4937-1.jpg

comp1.jpg

IMG_4930-2.jpg
A typical country house along the way

IMG_4932-4.jpg
In the background the snow-covered slopes of the Walsertaler Mountains.

Thanks for watching and stay tuned for Part 2!

Shaka

Sort:  

This look like such a beautiful place, looking forward to the next post

Posted using Partiko Android

The peacefulness of this place is radiating. Beautiful shots. The nature is so vivid and clean, it looks as if someone just vacuumed the ground :) I am also jealous of the majestic forests. I am about to return to the Czech Republic and I am looking forward to roaming in forests so much but from I have heard from my family and friends, most Czech forests have been badly damaged by the bark beetle, storms and draughts :( You don´t have these issues in Germany?

This tidyness is really reamarkable. Looks like vacuumed indeed. It's an enormous effort to maintain this cultural landscape.
I heard there are issues with the bark beetle in German forrests too. The relative draught of last winter has apparently weakended the defensive forces of the trees. But I don't know how serious or widespread the occurrence is.

Will you move back to the Czech Republic or is it just a home visit?

Oh yeah, spotless nature with environmentally aware hikers, this is one of the things I really admire about countries such as Switzerland, Austria, Germany or Norway.

Well, in the Czech Republic, the bark beetle issue is even more serious because of the spruce monoculture. Decades ago, during the communist era, only spruces were planted in most forests, which is why now entire forests have to be cut down because the bark beetle attacks only spruces. To be honest, I am quite worried to go to my favorite forest places again because the photos from this region that I have recently seen were truly heartbreaking. There are no tress anymore, just stumps :(

As for the length of my stay in my homeland, I cannot really tell. Having lived the nomadic lifestyle in the past couple of years, I pick my future destinations quite randomly and spontaneously. But I always start to miss my homeland after some time, that´s for sure :)

I love the mixture of yellow wild flowers and green grass @shaka . Very envious of your vacation :)

Hey Terry, good to hear from you! The wild flowers are really an attraction of this region during early summer. I will show some more in the upcoming posts.

Wow! Great landscape @shaka!! It reminds me of my trip to Switzerland 🤔 Germany, Austria and Switzerland are pretty much the same. The Alps.are wonderful in combination with that vivid green!! Really warmed my heart seeing this cause I realise once again how beautiful nature is. 😌 Cheers from Romania 🇷🇴

Posted using Partiko Android

Sehr schöne Fotos und Beschreibung einer wunderschönen Landschaft 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I like all the photography gallery that you share today, nature is always impressive, and you have great eye for photos.

Sieht mir nach Entspannung pur aus, sehr beruhigende Bilder.
Warum nur war mein erster Gedanke mir ein Bild zu schnappen und irgendetwas daran zu verändern? 😎

Haha, das kommt auch bald wieder :)

Das ist Musik in meinen Ohren. 😎

Sehr schöne Fotos 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Danke, freut mich!

How beautiful it is to watch this landscape, great shots!

Thank you!

Wow a blessing to explore and enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37