The Tallest Building in Vancouver "Shangri La" 🏙

in #photography7 years ago
The Vancouver Shangri La was completed in 2008 for a cost of $350 million dollars and 3.1 million man hours. It's currently Vancouver's tallest building standing at 201.2 meters tall. The Shangri La's 62 floors are used as a Hotel on the lobby, with Residential, and Office space above.

Shangri La Tall1.jpg
I shot this about half a block away from Shangri La.

As I walked up to the entrance of Shangri La, the thing that struck me the most was the two Lion statues. I thought the styling was really cool. What do you guys think?

Here's a closer look at the Lion statue:

Before I went inside I looked straight up and took more photos from the base of the building. Here was one I liked.

Next I went inside the building, but before I could get very far I got a few strange looks from the staff. I don't blame them though, I was sweaty from walking in the heat for a couple hours.😅 I probably smelled gross and maybe they wanted me out of the hotel? 🤔

I got this photo of the chandeliers, but that was about all I got before I felt it would be best to put my camera away and leave. The building looks better from the outside anyway. 😒

I began walking away from the building and took some more shots.

I really wanted a picture of the building in context with surrounding buildings, but my lens wasn't wide enough, so I decided to do a vertical pano. I took 5 photos and stitched them together to create this image of Shangri La:

I'll leave you with a final 127 megapixel photo matrix shot I took of Coal Harbor 🏙 , if you look in the top center of the image, you'll see Shangri La behind the crane.


Best wishes to you all, and I hope you enjoyed the photos!


© Copyright, All Rights Reserved 2017, Andrew Furmanczyk " @sevenstars
Sort:  

great post.......!

Beautiful building! I love the sculpture at the front. Good to see you on teamcanada. Please see my last post, also we have sweet graphics you can use if you like? Cheers

Nice shots and well designed building. :)

Congratulations @sevenstars! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @sevenstars! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56