Shooting Film: Part 2 First Time Shooting Leica!

in #photography5 years ago

Hello and welcome back!

If you've been following along, you'll know that about a month ago was my first time shooting film, well, as a photographer and not as a kid before digital cameras were mainstream.

This was my second roll of film, and my FIRST time shooting with a LEICA! Now I've had this Leica camera for a long time now. Never touched it, because I wasn't shooting film, obviously. I tried to sell it once, but the price the shop offered was pretty awful compared to what I've seen them going for, so I just kept it, and I'm glad I did.

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63103-WebExport.jpg

So what camera is it you're asking? It's the Leica Minilux 40mm F2.4. Leica's premium point and shoot camera of the late 90's or so I believe. They made two versions, this one, and a zoom version. From what I've read, this version is highly sought after for its amazing lens, whereas the zoom version is considered quite lower in lens quality, which is somewhat expected with a zoom vs prime lens, especially from that time period.

So with that out of the way, let's talk about this roll!

So I just got my film back from my first roll of Kodak Ultramax 400 shot with my Canon Pellix camera and now it was time to throw my next roll into the Leica and take it for a spin!

And of course, the first shot is....

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63094-WebExport.jpg

THE FLOUF!

So let's talk about the differences from my Pellix. The Leica is a point and shoot, so it has autofocus, built in light meter, and sadly, only 1/400th max shutter speed. So for someone that wants to shoot wide open at 2.4, ISO 400 film probably wasn't the best choice. Oh well.

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63095-WebExport.jpg

But it feels great in the hands, being fully metal with a faux leather strip for a grip. And when you think about the fact that it's technically a "full frame" camera in such a tiny package, it's really appealing. Though the viewfinder takes a bit of getting used to, as it's quite small.

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63096-WebExport.jpg

But it was weird shooting it after the Pellix, with the Pellix being fully mechanical, it was really a satisfying experience with the big metal mechanical clunk, compared to the Leica's little electronic motor wheezing after each shot.

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63097-WebExport.jpg

As far as image quality goes though, there's no question this 40mm Leica lens packs some SERIOUS performance for its size. Corner to corner sharpness wide open, practically no distortion, straight lines etc. It's really quite amazing.

All in all, I really want to shoot some more with it, ideally with some better film that more suits my style, but the Leica is truly an amazing almost-pocketable camera with serious performance. Which makes me want to take it with me on my next trip to Japan (more on that later). But as I try to travel backpack style, every ounce counts, so I'm a bit torn if I should make room for it with all the other camera gear I'll be taking, what do you think? Should I try to take it with me?

And enjoy the rest of these images from the roll!

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63101-WebExport.jpg

My first portrait tests with the Leica.

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63102-WebExport.jpg

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63104-WebExport.jpg
Boston Public Garden

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63105-WebExport.jpg
Waterfall in the White Mountains

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63107-WebExport.jpg
A wild Sean Gold in the White Mountains

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63106-WebExport.jpg
More of the White Mountains

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63109-WebExport.jpg
Flouf!

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63110-WebExport.jpg
Horn Pond

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63113-WebExport.jpg
Horn Pond

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63116-WebExport.jpg
This was one I thought I would miss focus on, with only 1 rather large focus point, shooting through an object made me feel not so good about my odds of hitting my subject, yet alas, I did!

And lastly, some portraits at a photo meet up.

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63130-Edit-2-WebExport.jpg

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63121-WebExport.jpg

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63125-WebExport.jpg

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63128-WebExport.jpg

Sean_Gold_September 04, 2019_63129-WebExport.jpg

And in the meantime, don't forget to follow along with me on Instagram! or check out my Website! for more of my work and to purchase prints to support my work! Thanks!

Sort:  

absolutely impressive photos well done! I don't think it can get better than this. I couldn't understand what was the film you used...also Kodak Ultramax 400? it's actually my favourite film, so cheap and always amazes me. I used the minilux in the past and it is a great camera...the autofocus speed and accuracy are top! looking forward for your next film!

Congratulations @seangold! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello. Currently there are a lot of curation groups and whales curating amazing content, there's no need to buy votes. If you buy votes, you'll eventually receive a downvote to discourage the buying of votes from bidbots. We kindly invite you to join us on the #NewSteem attitude, where good content receives votes and the organic content get the most attention. Buying votes hurts you, other authors and the Steem Ecosystem in general, please don't do it.

The "good old days" of real film. Really beautiful photos and nice to see you keeping old style alive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82