Island Life

in #photography7 years ago

D1B359CB-03AC-468F-B830-1633EA540D36.jpeg

@steemed-open and I are loving island living here in Puerto Rico. Several of you have reached out to us with questions about our move and the island in general (the status of the hurricane recovery, nature of the tax incentives, crime, business environment, etc.). We prefer to answer those questions in a public forum so that everyone can learn and benefit.

So, feel free to ask any questions here and we’ll do our best to answer them.

(Photo by me. Subject: @steemed-open)

Sort:  

Hiii friend @sean-king,

Here is my first ever Comment after following you. very nice to see your photography here in "Puerto Rico Island."are you peofessional photographer. impressive shots taken.Lively view of island.
I appreciated your work and my Support as my tiny UPVOTE for you.

"Home is where the heart is" is not much different from "Paradise is where @steemed-open is", in this case.

Was in Puerto Rico some 20 years ago and it seemed pretty safe to me, as far as crime rate is concerned...

Since questions seem welcome, I'd like to know, if you already experienced any serious storms... are hurricanes an issue in your community?

Hurricane season officially ended November 30, so we don't have to worry much about that until next summer. So far we've had no major storms since we moved down in late December.

Ah, good :-) Storm is the weather I hate the most... when we were out in the submarine in my sailor days, and we had really bad weather we always felt sorry for the poor people on land ;-)

Stay safe! :-)

it would be of no use to ask whether you are a professional photographer...your pictures itself speaks the professionality...really amazing buddy:)

Thank you a bunch. I'm really not a pro, but I think I have a decent eye for composition, a great model/subject and pretty good post-processing capabilities. Best to you, and thanks for commenting.

really beautiful,

Owk @sean-king my question is...

What's the crime rate in Puerto Rico like, is it like what we see in the movies? A friend of mine is planning to go on honey moon with his wife there but I have been discouraging him because I don't like what I see in the movies, the guns and all. So this is really timely as your response will determine his journey

thank you

Like most places, crime in Puerto Rico is really dependent upon your specific location. There are definitely areas to be avoided. However, if you're not involved in drug deals and you stick to the beaten path, crime in Puerto Rico is really quite manageable. Here's a comparison of crime rates (2014) between San Juan, Puerto Rico and some other similarly-sized metropolitan areas on the mainland: https://realestate.usnews.com/places/puerto-rico/san-juan/crime

There's been an understandable spike in crimes over the last 90 days post hurricane Maria, but I don't expect that to persist.

We walk around Condado of San Juan at night all the time and we've never felt unsafe.

I would like my girlfriend to be as opened to these types of pictures as your wife. <3

Yah, I'm a lucky man. My wife is both lovely and extremely self-aware. Lucky for us she's not reluctant to share her assets with the world.

itz really good dear.. i also wrote a blog on beauty you must visit it and i hope you will enjoy.
https://steemit.com/beauty/@ajaydodeja/five-famous-and-beautiful-destinations-of-northern-areas-of-pakistan

This ice land is very beautiful n shes girl is very pretty i love it pic..thanks a lot for sharing with us lovely post @sean-king

You mentioned tax incentives, how do taxes differ from the U.S. mainland?

Thank you so much, that was great information that I previously knew nothing about. It my be just what I need to convince my wife to move from dreary England (she is english and I'm american).

It is a true Paradise. I feel the warmth of the sun on my skin when I see your photo. Looks like you enjoy life. This is a great solution. And to live, enjoying everything around. Have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61180.45
ETH 2409.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62