The Red Boat - Impressionist StylesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

RedBoat_after.jpg
                                                                          The Red Boat © Eduardo Fujii

The red boat image was captured at the coast guard pier in Monterey on a foggy Saturday morning. Most mornings in Monterey are foggy, especially during the summer. I like to photograph in the fog because I am always looking for ways to make my images look more painterly. Fog and smoke are great for that purpose. Another technique that I use is to pan the camera either horizontally or vertically while using a long shutter speed. I used a wide angle lens to capture most of the boats as possible.

RedBoat_before.jpg
                                                                                                                Original image

The original image already looked somewhat painterly but I had to impart part of myself to it. I had to make it uniquely mine. I believe that sad and happy moments in my life helped shape my own artistic vision and style. I hope some day viewers will be able to look at an image and say "this is an Eduardo Fujii", the same way we can identify a Picasso, Modigliani, or Chagall painting.

When looking at the original image, I thought it lacked drama so I turned to impressionist painters for inspiration. I started by making the image a little bit more mysterious by decreasing contrast, eliminating detail from the shadow areas and increasing the foggy effect. Then I added a stained paper texture, freely available on the web, and blend it with the image in a way to simulate applying a diffused light with a yellow gel. That's what gave the image this magical golden glow. To finish I added more drama and dodged the area around the red boat.

The Red Boat was one of my images featured during my talk at the Center for Photographic Art in Carmel, CA on March 16, 2017

I will be sharing more of my images in the future. If you like it, follow me.

Note: All images are the author's own work (100%)

--
Eduardo Fujii
Website: https://eduardofujii.photography
Email: [email protected]
Steamit: @sea-otter

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemd, it's a great work!

Wow! Thank you, bragih :)

You're welcome, you deserve it, it's great work and edit

Great work @sea-otter , I appreciate the artistic result

Thank you, helios :)

amazing what you did with that photo. If you ever do another talk at the center let me know I would love to hear it. Carmel is not far from me. I can see being a fine art photographer as well that Carmel would be a good spot for that.

Thank you, tim 😀 Yes, I'll let you know. Great articles, I'm following you and thank you for the resteem.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thank you both @drotto and @banjo 😀

Thank for the clarification, Jim 😇

You are welcome!

Wow, really a beautiful work. I love the atmosphere that you gave in the photo, really interesting! Love it!

Loading...

So William Turner :) great photo

Thank you, jungwatercolor. You have great images too! I've just followed you.

I wish I could zoom in closer for a better look... It's beautiful. I love the mood about it. I do agree - the Eduardo Fujii version is much better.

Thank you, ackhoo :)

You're most welcome! :)

This is a really compelling image, finding that one red boat in a group of colorless boats was a wonderful stroke of luck; and you took grate advantage of that luck with grate framing, landing that red boat on the third. The processing is really well done.

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

Thank you, Kelly 😀

Isn't that an Eduardo Fujii? 😉
Know the feeling... every photographer looks for his particular and unique style... seems you found yours!👍
(I'm still looking, it appears I'm a multi-style guy, far from being unique... but my
psychiatrist told me that's quite normal 😂)

No, I haven't found mine yet, I'm still looking too 🤔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84