Aloe Vera Garden at 12th Annual Black & White Spider AwardssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

_MG_9896.jpg

Today, I would like to share a major milestone in my photographic career. Last Saturday, Oct. 14, I was teaching a workshop with Oliver Klink, an award-winning fine art photographer in his studio in Los Gatos, California. It was an intense day and late that afternoon after the class finished I decided to check my email. One message, in particular, caught my eye right away. The title read "CONGRATULATIONS".

I opened it but the text of the message was not any clearer. So, I replied" Thank you, Susan but for what? After a few minutes, she replies saying that I had won a major award at the 12th Annual Black & White Spider Awards.

I told Oliver and we both rushed to the computer to check the Spider Awards website. To my astonishment, my aloe vera garden image had won 1st place in the Still Life category. WOW, that was pretty intense. So we started to browse the other winning images and found out he had won the 2nd place in the Silhouette category. We were both celebrating but he kept browsing. We found that 6 other photographers that we know had also won awards in the competition. And then, he said: Good lord, you won Photographer of the Year!!!

What ? 😳

And there it was, my image again with the title Photographer of the Year. Unbelivable. At that point I though what a lucky bastard. I almost did not submit that image thinking that it did not have much of a chance. These photography competitions never cease to amaze me. You never know what the jurors are looking for. 😄

The Black & White Spider awards is one of the industry's most important events for black and white photography and this year, jury members included captains of the industry from The Armory Show, New York; Christie's, London; McCann, Singapore; GQ, New York; Hot Docs Film Festival, Toronto; Y&R, Malaysia; Sharon Calahan, Pixar Animation Studios, Emeryville; Bloomsbury Auctions, London; and Donald Schneider Studios, Berlin.

I apologize if this post sounds self-congratulatory. Forgive me, this is such a big deal that I can't help myself. 🤗

Image © Eduardo Fujii

--
Eduardo Fujii
Website: https://eduardofujii.photography
Email: [email protected]
Steamit: @sea-otter

Sort:  

You have all the reasons in the world to be proud. Congratz!!!!

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 16 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Hello pixresteemer. Thank you. Are you in Europe?

Congratulations @sea-otter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you, steemitboard 😀

Congratulations!! ^^

Thank you, tegoshei 😀

you're welcome! ^^

The image looks like a place from another planet, I keep trying to find some aliens lurking in the first. Congratulations, that's a big achievement!👍

Thank you, steemulator 😀

You are welcome! Will be waiting for more of your pics! 😊

Congratulations, no doubt you won, this looks like great painting not photo :) True art.

Thank you, jungwatercolor 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80