3 New Photos Of Last Night's Sunset. Which Is Your Favorite?

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

Last night's sunset at Donner Lake in Truckee, California was an incredible one! It was one of those sunsets that seemed to last a really long time. The colors were vibrant oranges, yellows, and reds looking to the west; pinks and purples to the east.

The first shot is the one I had in mind when I walked out to this location. But bonus! I ended up shooting two other scenes that I was really happy with. This time of year (winter), the lake's water is drained a bit and many boulders get exposed in this area. The trail and rock spiral are also usually underwater, most of the year.

_Q1A9466.jpg1.

These were all shot with a Canon 5DS R and a 16-35mm lens. A polarizing filter and two graduated neutral density filters were used on the front of the lens. The exposures varied a bit but they were all fairly long exposures, with the camera set on a tripod.

_Q1A9443.jpg2.

_Q1A9492.jpg3.

I liked the heart in the center of the spiral above. Do you see it?

All three shots turned out great in my opinion, I was happy with them all and I can't pick a favorite. So I'm curious... Which of the three to you like best?

Thank you for looking and I hope you are all having a great weekend!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

Sort:  
Congratulations! Your picture received a 100% Upvote!

 
📸 Make sure to give us a follow on @photofeed & Twitter 📸

Woohoo, thank you!

All three photographs are so beautiful each one unique and special @scottshots!
Love the top photo with the blazing sky and cool waters. I'm so glad you
caught these awesome boulders and spiral heart while the levels were low! :-)

Thank you @shasta! Yeah, that spiral was a pretty cool find. Most of the year it will be underwater.

I loved all of them. Each shot captured something unique about the scenery.

Nice, thank you! Everywhere you looked during sunset, it was looking awesome.

first photo is my fav, love the boulders against the sunset. The rock circle with heart is really cool though :)

Nice, yeah, those exposed boulders are why I went out there. The circle was a great bonus!

As a huge sunset lover it's really hard to pick one.
But if I had to choose, I would probably say photo number one.
Third photo really caught my eye because it's a lot different and I also really like the heart in the middle. :)

Great shots!

I liked that heart a lot too. It was a bummer that it was sideways but that was the direction that looked best for the composition. Glad you like the first one, thank you for letting me know!

Really nice! I like the first one, but the other two shots are also pretty good!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Yeah, it was a good night for photos.

All of them beautiful, but for me the first one steals the show!

Nice, thank you @pardinus! That was the angle I had in mind when I went out there.

Great shots, congratulations...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67814.76
ETH 3246.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66