Nobody, Nobody. Can Hold me Down, Nobody

in #photography7 years ago

Zoo's and aquariums are tough places for me to visit these days. I understand they have their merits when it come to education and animal rehabilitation, but I truly struggle with animals of any sort on display as a spectacle.

Case in point when I travel to the Bahamas and toured around the zoo that is in Nassau.

Leopard-1.jpg

My heart sank when I saw these caged cats. I don't know the story behind how they came to be in this pen or if they have been released back into the wild at this point but it was very hard to see.

Leopard-2.jpg

They seem to be having fun with each other despite being caged. I truly hope that they at some point will be back in the wild.

Leopard-3.jpg

Thanks for reading.

Scott

For more stories and images - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  

I share your feelings about aquariums and zoos. My daughter loves going to them, though and she's still too young to really realize how cruel it is.

As a zookeeper, there are good zoos and there are bad zoos just the same as most things in life. Sadly the wild isn't safe and zoos are necessary to saving species. Should animals be in zoos? no they shouldn't they should be in the wild but that unfortunately has been our doing as a species ruining habitats, killing animals for their fur/meat/bones etc, intense farming and the illegal pet trade. I hope that by checking out my zoo posts you will see how much we keepers adore our animals and how we do everything possible to ensure the welfare of their animals is at the highest through training, enrichment and exhibit design. We give up our lives for the animals. I understand people dislike zoos and I would love to run to the job centre tomorrow if the wild was safe for them all. Your daughter has the opportunity to learn about these incredible animals through zoos education programs (depending where you are in the world) and also can change the future for their wild cousins :)

signature white background.png

Oh damn! Those cheetahs are amazing. I have only seen one cheetah in my life in the zoo. It is amazing to see them in action on your photo.

It is sad to see them in cages 😒.
They look happy, though 😏. I hope they are!

and zoos are not real education for our generations it give us false information

We must respect animals privacy and freedom.

I am afraid if people don't get over their belief in the need to keep having baby after baby, in another 50 years, zoo's will be the only place you can find animals. Land for them to live on is quickly disappearing. Man can build higher and higher, but the animals need the ground beneath their feet.

As a zookeeper myself seeing your comment made me smile that there are still people out there fighting to keep the wild safe rather than sitting behind the "we hate zoos" and not willing to change. you are correct the more we take from the animals, the more we lose them

signature white background.png

I totally agree with you 100% . Great photography if I must say . The angles are perfect

Wow very nice,this is a animals and beautiful photography,

Even though its a bit of a sad thought behind the post, the shots look very nice. It's like it is expressing your melancholy/trapped thoughts with the fence in the foreground of the image. Thanks for sharing.

The pictures really make this post!=D
If you really like cute creatures check my latest post
I would much appreciate the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94