A contradiction.

in #photography7 years ago

In the last few days, I spend some time at the Calgary Zoo and it was a very weird experience for me. The weather in Alberta was very cold just like the rest of central and eastern Canada, minus 27 and below in some spots.

Hippo-1.jpg

Due to the extreme cold many of the animals at the zoo were kept inside however as I ventured around the zoo I spotted lots outside. Having seen many animals over the years living both in the wild and in captivity it puts things into perspective in many ways.

Lion-1.jpg

I've always had mixed feeling about zoo's and what zoo's represent. Seeing African animals in the snow just doesn't seem right and watching both hippos and giraffe feeding, while housing in these man made structures is bizarre to say the least.

Baboon-1.jpg

I'm not someone who is going to sit on a soapbox and talk about animal rights and weather or not animals in captivity is a good or bad thing. That can be debate for the comments below. I understand zoo's and aquariums can have there place for scientific research and education. I feel that education is a huge part of what is necessary to ensure that humans and animals can coexist for years to come. Kids love the zoo and if the zoo is built and maintained for the right reasons then I can appreciate why they exist.

Giraffe-1.jpg

Tiger-1.jpg

Thanks for reading and please keep the comments clean and civil.

Scott

For more stories and images - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. You have a really good view ..
I think you should go to wildlife reserves to enjoy seeing animals.

God bless you

@scottdphoto looking at the animals in captivity,a person with a keen sense of observation can see that something is missing,like a side of them is being repressed.Much like a man in prison with limitations of movements, rights and freedom leads to depression in spirit,mind and body same also happens to animals in captivity only difference is they become spectacles.I would rather go on a safari to see the animals in their natural habitat as nature intended them to be natural predators or prey doing the dance of death and life.

yeah but who wants to bring a toddler on safari? how many people can afford to?

So then just don't bring you kid on the safari? Wait a few years? Seeing "exotic" animals is not some kind of fundamental right we're entitled to.

I am sure I didn't say it was a fundamental right but if you want people to actually give a shit about those animals then letting them see and experience them is fairly basic, far fewer people will care about them if they are not inspired by them as children. It's pretty absurd and elitist to say "just go on safari instead". Not to mention how essential zoos are for research and conservation efforts. The individuals in the zoo are like ambassadors for their species.

@funbobby51. Wild animals belongs in the wild, anything short of that is irrelevant. If the kids wants to see them tune to National geographic channel

awesome shoot

I always thought the zoo was cool when I was growing up. I liked seeing all the different animals that I couldn't see in my backyard. A few years ago I went to a small local zoo and the conditions were so bad that I felt depressed looking at the depressed animals. Most of them just laid in the dirt and did nothing. The worst was the elephants; animals that are used to having 100s of acres to roam around were in an area not bigger than someone's yard. Just sad.

I love the quality of images and how wild you see everything

Yes especially the image of the tiger looks super cool. I think it is because of the contrast between the snow and an animal that is associated with rather hot places. I also thought about going the zoo to play around with my new camera. I' ve heard from a vet that some zoos can be actually alright for the animals. So there doesn't have to be a contradiction between holding the animals in captivity and educated people who can't travel. But I am not a pro, so I can't say for sure it's true.

I always wonder why people think that there people who love animals more than zoologists.

awesome photo!)

@politt your nice posts your support me Steemit thank you

Prefer not to go to the zoo, I do feel bad for the animals. Thanks for posting this, it brings awareness!!

Hello @thomasfarley your good content your support me Steemit I will support you

Following yah ;)

An animal should live in it's natural habitat and not held captive in zoo's to make money. That is just my opinion and I am sure not everyone may agree.

I've recently visited the one in my city and I felt the same.. Mixed feelings. I went so my little daughter could see the animals

Great shots btw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64