Saying Goodbye With Raspberries

in #photography6 years ago

As part of my healthy lifestyle efforts, I try eating berries at least once a week. I'm usually aiming for blueberries, because I like them the most. However, I wasn't able to find them, so I decided to go with raspberries. Health benefits of eating berries are numerous, because they're packed with antioxidants, fiber and vitamins, especially vitamin C.

100 grams of raspberries contain only 53 calories, can provide you with 43 % of your daily vitamin C needs, and contain 12 grams of carbohydrate of which even 7 grams of dietary fibers. And are of exquisite taste! You can also buy frozen raspberries and make a smoothie with bananas for example (my favorite combination).

IMG_9803.JPG

Not many of you know this, but I'm a proud owner of Canon EOS 600D. However, I've decided to say goodbye to my beloved Canon, and to give it to the person who has much more passion and talent for photography than I do, and who will put it in much better use than it is now.

To be honest, it never should've become mine at first place. It was just not meant to be for us.

At some point of my life, I've developed an extreme passion for photography. I've always considered photography to be an art, a way of creating magic, whether emphasizing already existing one, or making it from scratch. Before I knew it, I found myself lost in reading about apertures, focal lengths, ISO speeds, exposure times...

However, like in every art, you need to have a talent. In photography, you need to have an eye for good shots and compositions. Something I never had, and couldn't develop it, no matter how hard I tried. For some people, that's just natural.

So I decided to take probably the last photo with my Canon EOS 600D, using 50mm f/1.8 prime lens. I bought this lens shortly after I bought the camera, and I like it very much. It's perfect for portrait photography, mostly because it makes facial features so soft and gives somewhat dreamy appearance to the whole photo.

These are the settings I used for my raspberry photo:

  • Camera model: Canon EOS 600D
  • F-stop: f/2.5
  • Exposure time: 1/30 sec
  • ISO speed: ISO-100
  • Focal length: 50 mm

I considered using larger aperture, to achieve bokeh in parts of the photo that are not in focus (@alexs1320 can laugh here as much as he wants, because of his very special bokeh achieving lenses that make magic!).

ISO sensitivity was low as possible, because large aperture opening allowed much light to get in. And I always like to avoid increasing the sensitivity of the sensor to the light as long as I can adjust other parameters.

Which inevitably brings up to the exposure time, of course. I must say I've always been a little bit crazy regarding that matter 😎

In static pictures, where you need just enough of exposure to have enough amount of light, I've always aimed for as long exposure as possible, even where it is considered unnecessary. Because being able to have a still hand while taking photos was some king of challenge for me, and 1/30 seconds is the maximum safe exposure I can apply without damaging the photo.

So there you go, a raspberry photo from completely untalented person - given that, it's not so bad after all :)

Take care, eat berries and enjoy life! ✿❀✿
scienceangel.png

Sort:  

Bokeh-liceous fruits!

Yum!

Untalented, you say? Could have fooled me, an Unprofessional :)

I understand wanting to be the best you can be and moving on from things you may not be as great at, but I feel hobbies you love are worth doing just for the fun of it. I used to be terribly embarrassed by my complete lack of artistic abilities, not even wanting to doodle a bit because I was so terrible at it. But after reading up on motivation and cognition a few days ago, I decided that I'm going to go ahead and just do it for a bit every day. Even marginally improving an underdeveloped skill will re-invigorate your mind!
an eccles 0.png

Thank you so much @eccles for such an amazing motivational speech! I completely agree with you that improving a skill opens up a new, undiscovered world and boost your mind!

And I really like the drawing, keep up the good work with doodling! :)

I used to gorge myself on raspberries when I was a kid in Russia. In Cyprus though they are not exactly endemic. Lately they're selling them fresh for like 5 euro per 100 gr, otherwise you can only eat them frozen in smoothies (which I make regularly). ... Berries are overall my favorite fruits, and I can eat them unstoppably. But not here...It's one of the few culinary gripes I have with my country...

I'm also the owner of a Canon 600D (which I prefer to call by its Americanized Rebel T3i, cos that just sounds cooler). But I bought it mostly for its video qualities.

It's nice to know that someone shares the same taste for fruits and cameras like me ;)

Malina je super, ali ja više volim borovnicu.

Slažem se :)

I am no photographer, but your picture is excellent. It captured the read and the details of the raspberries really well.

You photo turned out very well. Maybe I would just use more plain background. Enjoy your raspberries, @scienceangel.

Thank you very much, and for the background I guess it depends on the taste ;)

Ha :-) Great picture, and a great habit! Keep it up!!! ;-)

You are very welcome! ;-)

Congratulations @scienceangel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49