The Museum of Failure, Part 3 (Los Angeles, CA)

IMG_6633.JPG

This is it, the big finale from my trip to the Museum of Failure! I'm leaving my very favorite piece for last. It's a great one!

Nike Magento (1995-1997)

MAgneto.JPG

I wish I had taken a close up from the side of these sunglasses. They look totally normal, right? Think again. They don't have sides that go over your ear to stay on your face. Instead, the wearer needs to glue magnets to their temple that allows these glasses to stay magnetically on their face. Wisely, this project was scrapped.

Febreeze Scentstories (2004)

ShaniaScents.JPG

This product was a failure from sheer confusion. Febreeze made an air freshener that looked like CDs that you would put into something that looked like a CD player. It was made more confusing by product spokesperson Shania Twain. People didn't know if this was a music album or an air freshener. If you look at the Scentstories, they even read like a track listing on a CD! Strange idea that quickly faded away.

Rejuvenique (1999)

REjunenique.JPG

This one I remember because it was so damn weird and because it was pitched by Dynasty star Linda Evans. Supposedly, this mask would send electric shocks to your face that somehow decreases wrinkles. If you zapped your face 3-4 times a week for 15-minute sessions, you would get younger looking skin. It was never tested or cleared with the FDA and was gone within a year. Oops.

Little Miss No Name (1965)

CreepyDoll.JPG

This is the greatest, creepiest thing ever, made by famous toymaker Hasbro. Meet Little Miss No Name. The mid 60's was all about love and understanding, so they wanted to teach young girls about compassion for people less fortunate than them. So Little Miss No Name has rags as clothes, no shoes, and those big sad eyes. Not surprisingly, kids were terrified of this doll. Hasbro ended this fiasco very quickly. But it's now become a cult classic and you can still find them on eBay today.

I hope you enjoyed this tour of the museum. I think there are some great lessons here. Even in failure, there's much to learn. I'll leave you with my favorite quote from here.

If Plan A.jpg

!steemitworldmap 34.0522 lat -118.2437 long Los Angeles CA d3scr

schmidthappens_red.png

Sort:  

The sunglass one is the funniest one to me. The doll is creepy but the sunglasses one is like... what were they thinking!!??

A lil weird buy still neat haha. You don't see that type of concept for a museum everyday. Please check out our blog!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=schmidthappens
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-museum-of-failure-part-3-los-angeles-ca


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 9 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Wow. It indeed was the best shot and worth stocking for last.

haha love that there is a museum for this!

Wow, that museum is awesome! Just read through all three of your posts and loved every single item.
Some of this ideas are actually so weird, that they would have a good chance of going viral on the internet and becoming a bestseller :D Who wouldn't want to gift an electroshocking anti-wrinkle mask or credit for a sex-doll-rental to their friends?

Seriously weird idea's here, Rejuvenique and Little Miss No Name MUST have been props in horror films. Also, come on Nike, gluing magnets to your temples!?

What an interesting museum!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87