The Museum of Failure, Part 2 (Los Angeles, CA)

FrontFailrue.JPG

And we're back with Part 2 of my trip to the Museum of Failure in DTLA last week. Like I said in the first post, there's plenty to learn from failure. Sometimes hopefully we can learn from it and it can make us better when we try again. But sometimes, a failure simply deserves to be a failure because it's a terrible idea.

Oreo Flavors

Oreos.JPG

I find this inclusion in the museum a bit controversial. The Oreo wall makes for a great social media photo but I don't think all of these flavors are complete failures. I think peanut butter, birthday cake, and even mint are decent ideas and make sense with the Oreo cookie. However, Swedish Fish flavor feels like a step too far. But I'll applaud Oreo for at least trying to shake things up.

Colgate Frozen Food (1980s)

ColgateBeef.JPG

At least Oreo's understands their brand unlike Colgate in the 1980's. For some reason, a company known for toothpaste decided to try a line of frozen foods. People may trust Colgate for their teeth, but they didn't for their stomachs. This was a disaster and a good reminder for companies not to get too creative and explore outside of their brand.

Kellogg's OJ Cereral (1985)

OJs.JPG

Since we're on food, how about this gem? Even as a kid, it only took me one time mixing orange juice with milk to know the combo tasted terrible. So of course Kellogg's thought a cereal made with real orange juice would be fantastic when paired with milk. It lasted a year before it was pulled.

Ayds (1937 - 1980's)

Ayds.JPG

I love this product's inclusion in the museum because sometimes even if you do everything right, something unforeseen can still cause your failure. Ayds was a popular appetite suppressant candy marketed as an alternative to diet pills. They were popular enough to stay in business for over 40 years. But when the AIDS epidemic hit in the early 80's, this product was doomed because of its name. They changed the name to Diet Ayds, but clearly that didn't help. It's a great reminder that while you can plan for many things, you can't plan for everything.

Hostess Grizzly Chomps (1975 - 1979)

CUChomps.JPG

No, that's not leftovers from a museum patron. That's an actual Grizzly Chomp made by Hostess. The idea behind this is that the cake is so tasty that the Grizzly Chomp bear took a bite out of it before it got into the package. So yes, when you open this up, it looks partially eaten.

GrizzlyChomps.JPG

It came with terrible merchandising like a cap with a bite eaten out of the brim. I'm actually surprised this product lasted for 4 years because I can't imagine eating something that looks like someone took a bite out of it!

That's all for Part 2. There's one more part on its way to you soon!

!steemitworldmap 34.0522 lat -118.2437 long Los Angeles CA d3scr

schmidthappens_red.png

Sort:  

Wow!That’s a very interesting post!I had no idea they had so many weird Oreo flavors, and the Swedish one😬😬😬😂Colgate’s frozen food just wasn’t meant to be hahaha

Yeah, some pretty terrible ideas, right? But I'll give them credit for trying!

True, you never know what happens until you try 😁

I've never tried a brand of Oreo that I didn't like. I really love everything peanut butter and peanut butter Oreos were awesome. The birthday cake Oreos were really good too. I'm pretty sure I had some of those a couple of years ago.
Colgate lasagna sounds terrible....... but I'd be willing to give those Kellogg OJs a try.

I agree. You can never go wrong with peanut butter!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 9 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=schmidthappens
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-museum-of-failure-part-2-los-angeles-ca


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Haha the Diet Ayds is bloody fantastic, genuinely made me laugh out loud! Some good ones here but I think the half eaten snack has to be the winner of this round! Looks like such an entertaining exhibition!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64866.50
ETH 2555.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65