SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry 2: Giraffes!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Here's my excellent animal portrait for the plethora of photography contests on Steemit! 


The theme for the 60th Steemit Photography Challenge hosted by @jamtaylor is Animal Portraits, so behold:

These are giraffes, the tallest land animals in the world! You can tell they are ladies because their little horns are covered in fur - males have bald horns. 

Giraffes live in Africa, but these gals live at a zoo in Oklahoma. As you can see, they have long necks and large spots. They eat the leaves of trees and have long tongues to help them reach to the tippy top! 


What an interesting creature, eh??


That was fun. Photography is awesome! It's a great way to play together & share our lives, and there are plenty of opportunities to do that here!! 

Steemit has a robust photography community. In addition to @jamtaylor's SPC, many of our fine Steemians host initiatives to enter your art, so check them out if you like: @daveks does a B & W challenge, @timsaid does MyPictureDay, @juliank does a bunch of stuff -
Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and travelphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography


I'm sure there are lots more that I don't know about. Join in the fun!!





💛 Sara! 
Check out how all those tags reach almost over to the promote button!! ⬇️

Sort:  

I like giraffe 🦒! Beautiful shot! I want to bring my daughter to the zoo to show her some animals, but now the weather bad in Mauritius, I will organize one day to bring her there.

Good day, @creativewoman!! I hope you and your family are well. It's really amazing to see children interact with animals - they are so connected to nature and being wild!

They look like ladies. And caricatures of themselves. What incredible bone structure.

Isn't that remarkable? I would love to see their skulls.

Thanks to the internet, I can see a giraffe skull!

Hahahahahaha wow! Thanks for sharing that skull xD
💗💗😄💗💗

Love it! My son loves giraffes and i'm saving this to show him when he wakes up in the morning. Thank you so much for sharing!

Oh, so sweet, thanks for telling me that @paigeharrison!! Glad to share a little joy 💛

Nice photo! I can't remember when was the last time I song those very long necks. I missed being in the zoo ^^

When I was younger I like going to the zoo and seeing all the animals. Now they make me sad and I don't go anymore.

I love giraffes possibly my favorite zoo animal

What a unique animal!!

For some reason they make me laugh! :D Some kind of curiosity in their eyes.

This picture makes me smile :) Animals are great fun!
Here's hoping humans don't destroy them all!

You can tell they are ladies because their little horns are covered in fur - males have bald horns.

I just learned something new. Thanks

You're welcome!

Great post! I wonders, if animals could learn to live together in peace why can'nt we humanbeings do same. Rather what do we have killing one another. I follow and upvote you.

Thank you! Humans are brilliant, arrogant, and disgusting animals. We have the opportunity to know peace, and I hope we embrace it before we fuck it all up for everything.

One of my favorite things about giraffes (other than their fuzzy nubs) is those long luxurious lashes- what lookers these two are!

Oh yes aren't those amazing?! They could be in a mascara commercial! Such kind, doe eyes 😍

total supermodels ;)

ohh thats amazing giraffe @saramiller

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60775.02
ETH 2656.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42