The J-Trick in Adobe Lightroom EXPLAINED

in #photography7 years ago

The J-Trick

I don't know about you, but I've heard several of my fellow photographers referencing the "j-trick" in their editing techniques in Adobe Lightroom. For the longest time, I just went along with it and thought it had something to do with the shape of the tone curve, but then realized I had absolutely no idea what they were talking about!

SO...

I spent some time this morning researching this J-Trick and want to share with you guys what I learned!


The J-trick transformed one of my images from this... (edited without J trick)

SRPhoto-nyc--1-26.jpg

To this: (only change to image was the addition of the J-trick)

SRPhoto-nyc--2.jpg

I made this quick video tutorial to show you guys exactly how the J-trick works and how I use it in my photos. I have been told that this trick works best on backlit photos, but can really be applied to a plethora of lighting situations. What this trick will do for you is really nail those blacks and whites and better manage the overall tones in your image.

Enjoy!

Xoxo,
@sarahjanele

16797910_366802717035587_4515000207411482102_o.jpg

Follow along for more photography, tips, tricks, travel, and more!

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips ! :)

Interesting- it apparently changes depth of field also.

Oh really? How would it do that? My depth of field stayed the same in both images.

Neat that a program can do this, but I think it would still be way better to do these kinds of adjustments manually. Would you use this often?
Followed you for the interesting post still!

I feel like the J-trick is just a nice guideline to get you in the ballpark for where your darks and lights should be! As for making these kinds of adjustments manually, yeah, we can do this in Lightroom just by eye as well. But I'm thinking the J-trick could help to create more consistency and speed up the process. It gives your eyes just a little more information as well :)

That is true, I get where youre coming from... maybe I'm just too much of a purist not wanting to use these kind of 'tricks' ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sarahjanele from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28