Ordinary Spot, Extraordinary Shot!

in #photography7 years ago

This week I realized that anything can be beautiful. Even ordinary things and ordinary locations. We see that simple idea becoming very true as all the lifestyle photography is trending throughout social media and famous bloggers, and as photographers get extraordinary shots of the simplest things while somehow making them look complex and valuable. This week I set out to do just that. Use an ordinary spot to make an extraordinary shot.

This first set of OS-ES (Ordinary Spot- Extraordinary Shot) shots were done in the ordinary spot of: MY KITCHEN SINK.

Extraordinary shot:

Sarah-Rodebush-Extraordinary-Shot-splash-417x625.jpeg

Originating from this ordinary spot:

Sarah-Rodebush-Ordinary-sink-625x417.jpeg

My second ordinary spot was: MY STOVE. Being stuck in my apartment all morning forced me to get creative. What can get more ordinary than this??

Sarah-Rodebush-Ordinary-Shot-Stove-417x625.jpeg

However, I was able to get this extraordinary shot of steaming water coming out of a pot by using a speed light and underexposing my camera settings. I love the moody feel of this one. This type of feel was inspired by the “Moody Food” I searched on Google a couple weeks ago as a suggestion from Caryn Esplin. Camera settings on this one were: ISO 100, f/14, 1/200 sec.

Sarah-Rodebush-Extraordinary-Shot-steam-417x625.jpeg

Overall, I had a fun time wracking my brain of how to make something so ordinary as a kitchen sink or a stove become something extraordinary.

A story originating from my website, https://www.sarahjanele.com. All images taken by myself, Sarah Rodebush.

Sort:  

went through some of your posts :) really like them, thanks for sharing and some great photography tips :) following you

Thanks so much! I appreciate it :)

Your making real money now! See I told you Steemit was worth your time :)

You should make THIS a challenge! I would totally participate! I probably wouldn't get as cool of shots as these (you're amazing!) but it would be fun!

Thank you! Glad you like them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72