Canon or Nikon?

Hello, everyone. For a long time I have been thinking about what to write about as my first post on this site. As fate should have it I am a crossroads right now. I am about to re-embark on a long lost hobby of mine: photography. For me, my love with photography began with that iconic National Geographic cover of the Afghani refugee with the astounding green eyes. What a cover that was!!!

steve_afgan.jpg

I couldn't have been anymore than 13 years of age when that sole picture inspired me to notice everything that had great photographic qualities whether it be the sharp, geometric shapes as those found on buildings or the soft, supple shapes of the human body. In addition, an older cousin of mine was a well-known photographer who worked freelance for years for a major newspaper in Dominican Republic, El Listin Diario. Thinking back to when I still lived on the island, I do remember seeing family pictures taken by him in practically all of our households. That was inspirational.

Over the course of my life I have taken more than a handful of photographic courses, the best of which would have had to be the lighting on location course I took at the New School in Manhattan. I have always had an issue with being disappointed with the results of my pictures once they came back from the lab. Yes, I am referring to film camera. Mad old school. Hahaha. Fortunately for me, ever since I bought the digital Canon T5i, I have been able to get a better sense of my skills as the feedback is instantaneous.

So, back to my question, for those who have had experience with both brands, what would you recommend? For me, it makes sense to stay with Canon as I have three lenses I can readily use. But I have always been curious about Nikon and have seen some really nice pictures that been taken with it. I have even considered moving to a full format camera whether it be Nikon or Canon but those are considerably more expensive. I have always heard that photographers get Canon because of the assortment of lenses. What is it about Nikon then that sets it apart? Help me understand.

Thank you.

Sort:  

Tough question. For me its Nikon for the same reason you pick Canon: I have Nikon lenses and changing is expensive. I used Canon at the beginning since my father had a A1 with 5 lenses! Old school film camera. Both brands are great, I truly feel that the photographer is what matters.

Thank you very much for your reply.

Why Canon? Do you shoot with a full frame or an APS-C sensor DSLR?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72