Florida Pterodactyls

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hey all my fellow steemians, I hope you are all feeling great this afternoon and getting some quality life time to enjoy for yourselves. I myself will be heading back to Florida in the near future to spend some time with family and friends. I just happened to be looking through some photos of Florida today and saw this picture of this Ibis couple.

The birds go by the name of Ibis and they mate for their entire lives together. If one of them die the other will never have another mate. Once this couple has a baby, the baby will live with them for years, until he/she finds its own mate for life. These birds are very friendly and will walk right up to you because they are protected in Florida and have no natural enemies. Before the ibis was a protected species of bird it was hunted to the brink of extinction. The meat is considered a delicacy and the birds are easily caught. However, thanks to the birds being protected, their numbers have rebounded and the population is thriving once again. When you see and hear one of these birds coming in for a landing they look just like a prehistoric pterodactyl .These birds are not small either seeing as how their height is usually three feet or one meter. Just a cool little fun fact for all of you out there to enjoy.

On my last visit to my fathers these two became good friends of mine. I took this photo while out in front of my dads house watering his plants. These two birds loved to come up to me and get sprayed with the water hose. In Florida the temperature is usually very hot with lots of humidity. They would flap their wings and screech as loud as they could...and they screech very loud.

Sort:  

Stalkers! I want to see them when you spray them with water

I will definitely get a picture for you...they go crazy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87