Atmospheric pictures from our currently mild Belgian winter

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I have been spending the holidays rather calmly past week in the Belgian Ardens. Last year I was able to built a snowman but this time it looked more like late autumn outside. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that 2018 was the second warmest year in almost 200 years... (2014 was the warmest) But 2018 also had the most extreme cold days in February and March so maybe we can still expect some snow in a few months.

It is also exactly one year ago I stayed at the same place and it was here that I started experimenting with actual posting on the platform. It is also where my first post got picked up by @SteemStem and I got super excited. So this vacation also sort of marks my one year anniversary of activity on the platform 😁🎉.

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-03 at 14.48.34.jpeg
But sadly exams are behind the corner and now it is time to head back and start working again. I'll definitely miss the fireplace but maybe I'll be back here next year, or maybe I'll own that place once Steem goes to the moon this year 🌙😁.
WhatsApp Image 2019-01-03 at 14.48.36.jpeg

Thanks for stopping by. How did you celebrate New year? I'm curious to know!
WhatsApp Image 2019-01-03 at 14.48.35.jpeg

Sort:  

What a lovely post! The cattle were the best. They seem really interested in you.
Congratulations on your Steemit anniversary. And good luck with your exams. I have a such an aversion to them that I actually walked away from an M.A. years ago because I wouldn't take my orals. Eventually had to start all over and take another 30 credits, at another institution, but this time a research paper substituted for the orals.
New Years for me was quiet... mercifully so. Rain, rain, rain. Here's to Steemit soaring in 2019.

Thanks a lot! They were indeed very curious but also cautious. I don't think they were used to a lot of human contact. That's quite drastic, but I totally get why. I'm not sure how it was with you but the department I study is rather small and after a while you get to know the professors rather personally. It makes oral exams so much nicer if there isn't such a power relation. I'm already curious how we will look back at steem in 2020 🙃

Walking away was a little extreme, but I thought I'd never need it. It was comparative literature--what do you use that for? Then I became a teacher and needed an MA for certification. I ended up knowing a lot about comparative literature :) Also, had so many credits I was certified in four subjects. Became sort of a joke in the school.
I do love those cows--beautiful!

We have a little snow here in Ottawa this year. But the temperatures fluctuate and rain during every high interval ruins it every other week. Very annoying. Also makes the walking trails around the woods a little more icy and slippery. The last rain was of course on midnight on New Years. Made the fireworks a little less enjoyable. But at least it was not strong enough to ruin the fireworks all together. Otherwise I spend New Years calmly and surrounded by friends, a very enjoyable occasion :)
But a cabin in the woods is definitely something I'd like to do one day. Escaping the turmoil of the city must be a nice thing on a night like that XD

Snow and rain is the worst combination! Did it turn into that brown mush or did it lead to ice everywhere? It is indeed a relaxing feeling to play boardgames near a fire in a remote cabin on a busy night like that!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @samve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.566 which ranks you at #15471 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 48 places in the last three days (old rank 15519).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #200.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @samve! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49