New Zealand Views - Lakes Hayes, Mid Winter - Photography

I took these photos about a month ago on a clear winters day in the south island of New Zealand where I live. This is Lake Hayes which is located just outside of Queenstown. Given that is winter at the moment the mountains are looking very rugged and it was a great day for getting photo reference for potential paintings.

The mountains in this photos are the Remarkables, which is one of the main ski fields in New Zealand.

This is a close up of the summit of the Remarkables.

The lake edge, getting some photo reference of trees which I may include if I paint a picture of this scene.

The Crown Range.

Lake Hayes, looking towards Cecil Peak in the distance.

I hope you enjoyed my photos :)

Sort:  

Lake Hayes is so beautiful seeing your post does make me a little homesick:)

Are you Kiwi? If so why hasn't that come up before this as we go back and forth?

LOL yes I am not sure how it never came up

Are you also a Kiwi I am originally from Hawkes Bay but haven't lived there for 30 years now and haven't even been back for a visit for about 5 years

You did mention in one exchange traveling there a couple of times but I thought it was on vacation. I'm not Kiwi, but if I could figure out how to get my kids and grand-kids to follow me there I could be. We spent a month there in March-April 2016 and are desperately trying to get back, because a month wasn't long enough to see everything!

Before we left I discovered a colleague was originally from there, and goes back a lot: he asked me to run over my itinerary during a boring drive to a work site, and when I was done said I'd got it wrong, 2 months in Oz and 1 in NZ was backwards! I thought this was just national pride, but after a week on South Island I emailed him 'you were right'!

Fond memories of Hawkes Bay wine!

Yes thats the same advise I give to anyone going there it is perhaps partially national pride but as you now know there I just so much to see and do in NZ for such a relatively small country

It was truly unexpected and outstanding - can't say enough about it. Why oh why did you leave?

Sometimes I ask myself that I did 3 years in Singapore with the MIlitary and I guess I got the travel bug and just never made it back

Karma - 25 years in Canadian Army, partly because I wanted to see the world. Still doing it (the travel, not the army!).

You must be on lunch, or your boss can't see what you are doing on your computer. LOL!

Great shots. We were in Queenstown and area in late March 2016. Soon hope to do a blog series about our almost 3 month roadtrip to Oz and NZ. Thanks for reminding me how special the South Island is! Following.

Wonderful lake. Beautiful Image and nice click dear friend. I'm also a photographer

Excellent post

Fifth is my favorite, you captured great contrast beetwen dark and light parts. Thanks for this nice winter day, in my country now is 40C degrees in city, so looking into your photos mekes me feel easier on this heats :)

You definitely live in the most beautiful part of the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63