Humboldt Mountains, New Zealand - Photography and Art

This is a view of the Humboldt Mountains from the top of Lake Wakatipu in Glenorchy, New Zealand. I come here often to go painting outdoors (en plein air) and I painted this scene last year in May as we were coming in to winter. It was early morning and it was a partly cloudy day making good light effects on the mountains.

This is the view looking southwards across Lake Wakatipu, this is one of my 'go to' plein air painting spots in Glenorchy.

My pochade box easel which mounts on a tripod, I wanted to capture the soft earthy colours in mountains.

I was experimenting with my plein air painting last year by using very loose brush strokes, quite different to my details studio paintings. This was indeed an experimental painting!

Humboldt Mountains, 9" x 12" (approx), oil on canvas, Painted 'en plein air'.

I have more paintings on my website: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

Very nice! The sun hit the top photo just right in the morning.

Great work, photos and painting. We were there on a very grey rainy day and I am sure I heard orcs coming down the hills!

samuel-earp-art got some love from .

Thank you @matrixbot, I am a glitch in The Matrix.

3 of my favourite things, NZ, photography and art!
Following You and Upvoted!
I'm just a stones throw away in Australia.
Check out my blog @tmyster for photos of the Australian Landscape

I paint Australian scenes too. I like your Steemit page, great photos, I followed you back :)

Hil @samuel-earp-art
Great post ! so beautiful picture. Cloud above the mountain The sun passes through very beautiful.

Thanks for the resteem :)

Nice! Looking forward to more posts from you, keep up the good work! Check out my blog and follow if you're interested.

Thanks @nicolicreer, I like your Steemit page :)

Fantastic photography and a great painting @samuel-earp-art!

Awesome shot, great painting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30