New Toy! The Syrp Genie Mini goes for its maiden panorama voyage in BalisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Syrup 2.jpeg

Today I am going to use this awesome new toy to shoot a panoramic shot here in Ubud, Bali.

The small gadget you can see under my camera here does a bunch of other stuff besides just panorama, but for now I want to know that I can master this one feature. Before I move on to mastering the others.

It just so happens that I live next to the most beautiful Bali jungle vista, too wide for even the widest of lenses to capture.

Here you can see our wonderful little eco community shot with my drone last year.

TP steem pic.jpg

So the answer is PANORAMA!

Three photos stitched together to make one long one.

It is very hard to do this hand-held. Almost impossible to get it perfect.

I had to work hard in After Effects for hours to get this hand held panorama looking right
Bali.jpg

But those days are behind me now!

When set to the panorama mode my Syrp Genie Mini asks me first what lens I am using, so it can calculate the number of the shots required based on how many degrees I would like to cover in my shot.

I am going for 151 degrees on my first test run, which will require three photos to cover this full area without any distortion.

IMG_0366.PNG

The final thing it asks me is clockwise or counterclockwise. If this were a motion control time-lapse the answer to that question would be important but in this situation it is not.

My camera is attached to the Genie Mini and this is attached to a tripod.

syrup 3.jpeg

It works through a bluetooth signal with my ipad and I control all of the different settings.

What I love most about this device is that it can combine with a second device to give 3 axis motion control movement. For me that is really rather exciting and soon I shall have my dream!

Just wait till you see the kind of motion control time-lapse shots I can get with 3 axis motion combined with a tracking system.

syrp-pan-tilt-bracket_5_1.jpg

I mean come on! How cool is that?

Come on Steem! I wanna see you at $3 before the end of next week :)

Erm, yes... cameras and time-lapse stuff excites me very much. One might even say that I am addicted.

tl pic.jpg

I leave you with my current time-lapse/drone showreel.

Soon to be vastly improved upon :)


I will post the results of the panorama shot I am seeking soon... I just need the perfect sunrise next :)

Blessings to you all

Latest version - needs tweaking.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my goodness this looks awesome. I lone panoramic photos, but you're right they are almost impossible to get correct handheld and even still very hard with a tripod. I want one so bad now. I need Steembto take off so I can go buy one!

Thank you for the comment, not long now :)

Excellent results @samstonehill, that certainly justify the price of a gadget. But just for the full info, what was the price of Syrp Genie Mini?

It was $249 off their official website. Thank you for commenting.

Those are some nice toys you got there, @samstonehill Sure takes a great shot :) Will follow you for some great travel footage. Keep it up!
Have a great day and remember... Always GoCoconuts 😉

Thanks for the follow, enjoy the ride! long live coconuts.

I bet your excited to get out there and click!!

You are doing fantastic things @samstonehill!

Really appreciate your comment, I can think of no better way to live my life. Photography forever!

Very beautful shots. You are using the camera very well. Looking forward to your amazing handpaint conversion...thanks for sharing

Oh wow. Even without the gadget your shots were beautiful. I am sure they will turn out even better now. Eagerly awaiting the blog with results. Upvoted and followed.

I am more into wildlife and travel. I would be honored if you check my latest blogs when you have time. Your comments will be very valuable to enrich my experience. Thanks.

Thank you. I will have a quick look now :)

something went wrong .. editing again
the down side with panorama fro me is that irt doesn't show me more details on my monitor unlike Macro photography, i guess a good panorma can only be judged printed or projected on a wall.
But i will follow you to see how this develops

Thank you I have already posted the result. yes, ultimately you will need a large space to view them.

Now we can expect some beautiful shots from you in near future. Congratulation!

Nice acquisition. Your video is amazing. I saw it yesterday but it always impresses me

Thank you very much for your kind comment. I'am very excited to make the 2017 version.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61888.55
ETH 3400.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50