Shedding Tails

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

This beautiful Lizard just shed it’s tail. It is an amazing process called autotomy. The tail one shed flops about for around 30 minutes to distract the predator.

Have an awesome Sunday!

C5F182E7-3E8F-48E0-988D-B5A7B5E7885B.jpeg

AD6835E1-D55C-47B2-
885B-EF0C9B91A3A4.jpeg

Sort:  

Sometimes, I wish I could just shed my tail like that

Haha really? I prefer to keep mine! 😉🌈🦋🌴💛

The lezers sometimes lose his tail but I see it will again grow.

Yes they do regrow. Such amazing beings! Thanks for your comment.🦋🌈🌴💛🍀

Aw cool! I remember years ago when I was first in China I had a lizard in my room, and when I licked him up to put him outside his tail fell off! I was worried as I thought I grabbed him too hard and pulled it off! The tail was flapping around for a good few mins and I put the lizard outside. A few days later I noticed a lizard in my room with a small tail growing so I guessed it was the same one! I let him stay after that :) 😀🌴🌅

That’s a great story! It must have been quite alarming to see the tail drop like that but it’s a wonderful process to protect them from predators and the fact that they then regrow them is just magical! Living with them is very beneficial too as they eat bugs that get into your room. Thanks for a beautiful thoughtful comment. 🌈🦋💛🌴❤️🍀

Yes I need more of them in my room right now I keep getting bitten by mosquitoes haha! I (for the first time ever) was actually really hoping that I had way more spiders in my room for once! Lots of mosquito bites at the moment :/ ❤️🌅

When someone is touching the tail of the lizard. It is being cut. Dont know why its so sensitive.

It’s a natural defense mechanism. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60626.97
ETH 3358.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45