Jungle Daily - All is calm after yesterday’s EARTHQUAKE!

in #photography6 years ago

Happy Weekend Steemers!

This morning I have a taste of the beach for you as the weather is calm and sunny. Yesterday afternoon though I felt the biggest earthquake I have ever experienced. The house started shaking violently- the glass in the windows was rattling as if it could shatter, the chandelier was swaying backwards and forwards as was the whole house. I ran outside while the shaking continued. It was really shocking to feel such tremendous power beneath your feet. Thankfully it wasn’t pouring with rain as that would only have added to the chaotic feelings going on in my body! After what seemed like about 10 seconds the shaking seemed to have stopped.
I was too nervous to go back in the house straight away so waited outside and did a little deep breathing to try and relax my system. I heard my neighbor calling my name to check all was ok. She was at ground level when it shook whereas I was up on the first floor of my house but she said it was pretty much the same experience.
I checked reports and saw it was a 6.1 on the Richter scale! That’s pretty strong! There were four smaller aftershocks in the following half hour which were also quite strong and jerky but not long lasting like the initial quake. They still had me running outside the house though!

DBBE0E14-1D4A-4115-BBC2-0F4C12AE22C2.jpeg
This area of the planet is known for being an earthquake region. There are signs around here and there telling you to go up a hill if you feel a quake happening. Most are very small though, these small ones can occur every few months and don’t give you the feeling anything big or significant is happening but yesterday’s was something else. Luckily I was already up a hill and would have been in a safe spot, had a tsunami wave hit the beach. Thankfully that didn’t happen though.
I was amazed no damage was done to the house; to watch and feel it sway like a tree in the wind is not something I want to experience too often! It certainly reminds me of what small, insignificant, fragile creatures we humans are though. I have always kept my prepper bag close - a bag to grab in case of emergency with a few things I would not want to be without should an emergency arise..... this morning I checked it and repacked it with a slightly more thoughtful head. It feels extra good to be alive today!

Have yourself The Best Weekend! Stay Safe and Happy!

Namaste 🦋

A2AE2709-2E63-4EDB-9BAC-BDDC9E7A3474.jpeg

8A0EB62C-5D5F-4546-8C1F-779645D7991C.jpeg

E3F45565-9CD4-4902-9A19-650EC4C7C156.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow. That sounds really scary @sallybeth23. Glad to hear you are safe and that you are prepared for emergencies.

It sounds like you know what you are doing but it obviously shook you up a bit. Take care of yourself. 💙

Thanks Gillian, it was scary yes! 😆 I don’t really know what I am doing, I can’t imagine watching ones house crumble to a ruin but I am glad I seem to give that impression! Lol

That sounds like quite a terrifying experience! Mother Earth has ways of doing what is needed when necessary. Indeed we are small among her great power! Glad it seems there's little damage. Knock on wood, we don't have earthquakes where i live. It's wild how once the quake passes it's like everything is back to "normal" again. No doubt some meditation and breath practice would be necessary to become grounded & centered again. Blessings and calmness to you friend 🌄💜🐿🌱👍

Thanks @yogajill it is lovely to hear from you. I am very happy to hear you are not in a earthquake region... you have enough to deal with with your extreme sudden and severe storms that seem to hit you! There is a lot of extreme weather these days for sure..... it makes me feel like I need to be stronger overall, tougher and more rugged so I may start increasing my daily workouts a bit for riding the storms! Hahaha Have a gorgeous weekend my friend, love you dearly 🤗🦋🌈🌴💛

Good call Sallybeth! You bring up two valid points. We are in a stormy area it's flodded a few times nearby but where I live shouldn't flood either. After the accident i have new perspective on why being fit & strong is important. It is really important! Good for you for amping up your workouts. Good choice 💜 i am looking forward to being strong with excellent fitness again hopefully sooner then later! Hugs!! So glad everything is ok through that episode yesterday. Lotsa love! 🌳🐜🐶

I'm so glad that nothing happened to you or your property! I hope nobody else was injured. We had a small earthquake last year and the building was shaking a little bit. I'm not used to it and I couldn't sleep for the rest of the night. I'm not sure how I would react in such a strong one like you had yesterday.

But even after such an experience you seem to be very positive and show us another beautiful pictures from Costa Rica :)

Thank you for sharing my dear! Stay safe!

Thanks Martina, wow you felt one in Switzerland? They seem to be happening in so many areas these days, no one is excluded any more I don’t think. Every day we wake up still alive is worth celebrating so calm beach photos seemed like the perfect thing🤗 🦋🌈🌴💛

Glad you are ok @sallybeth23! I think that's the way Costa Rica say hi to us! Hahahah. Five or six years ago the earthquake in Guanacaste was pretty awful, but fortunately like this time it was only spooky. Since this is the biggest one you felt in here, you can take it as your welcome sign! :)

🤣what an awesome comment, and yes I shall take it as a welcome sign... the earth dances under my feet.... what a beautiful welcome indeed!! I feel blessed. 🤗🦋🌴🌈💛

Hi Sallybeth - So glad you are all ok ... how incredible to really feel the power of the Earth!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thanks very much @icedrum it really is incredible! 🦋🌈🌴💛

Living in California, they happen all the time here. It's a sign of whether someone has become a local or not : do you react a mild earthquake? Many here just ignore it. However, a 6.1 is a pretty serious shake. Glad to hear nothing was harmed.

Now, as for the beach, do people swim at the beach down there? It seems rather beautiful, but...empty.

Yes the small quakes are just tickles and we are used to those like you say, but yesterday’s was a real tooth shaker! Haha
Beachwise, It’s more a surfing than swimming beach as there is a strong rip current. When a swell comes the ocean is full of surfers!!!! Have a n awesome weekend in CA 🦋🌴💛🌈❤️

Crikey - that was a strong earthquake!! I have never experienced a lighter one let alone at 6.1! Very happy that you came out of it unscathed & glad to hear you have an emergency bag packed for a quick exit.

I hope you are relaxing today and taking it easy after such an event - a nice sunny day for some more leisurely photo taking perhaps? 😎

Thanks very much @gardeningchef. yes today will be leisurely with some quiet macrophotography maybe haha. I am glad you have never experienced such things and hope you never do. Little shaking underfoot can be interesting to get in touch with the earth but not big ones😉🦋🌈🌴❤️

beautiful beach views and also a squirrel who is eating a full freedom freedom we see it.

Thanks 🦋🌴🌈💛

@sallybeth23 good to know that you are safe.nice photography,its beautiful.keep sharing.

Thank you very much for your kind comment 🦋🌴🌈💛

Beautiful view and unique and different as always.
Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much🌴🌈🦋

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47