Jelly like bug

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

image

This extraordinary tiny organism is only a few mm across and sparkles in the sunlight due to an iridescent luminous colour of yellowish green beneath its transparent outer body which itself looks like a thin film of jelly. The black rings contrasting with this luminosity are sure to warn off others like the colours of wasps and bees and various other insects who wish to protect themselves from predators.
Despite his tiny size his ability to eat holes in leaves is alarming and I found him on a leaf that had undergone severe damage - all I believe to have been caused by this one tiny bug!
I would be interested if anyone knows the name of this beautiful but deadly leaf muncher!

Sort:  

Where did you find this bug? I think it's a so called tortoise beetle (Cassidinae) Pretty cool :)

Wow thanks for the name I will check that out. I found it in Costa Rica

It has a tiny raincoat with a hood! 😃

Haha yes it has - very keen eye!

Haha! My thoughts exactly :)

What a cool bug! 😀

Very cool yes - thanks for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36